Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Scoundrel Days [Bonus CD] [Bonus Tracks] [Digipak]

Album: Scoundrel Days [Bonus CD] [Bonus Tracks] [Digipak]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Scoundrel Days
2)    Swing of Things, The
3)    I've Been Losing You
4)    October
5)    Manhattan Skyline
6)    Cry Wolf
7)    We're Looking For the Whales
8)    Weight of the Wind, The
9)    Maybe, Maybe
10)    Soft Rains of April
11)    I've Been Losing You [Extended Version]
12)    Cry Wolf [Extended Version]
13)    Manhattan Skyline [Extended Version]
1)    Scoundrel Days [Demo] - (previously unreleased)
2)    Swing of Things [Demo #3], The - (previously unreleased)
3)    I've Been Losing You [Octocon Studio Demo] - (previously unreleased)
4)    October [Demo] - (previously unreleased)
5)    Manhattan Skyline [Demo] - (previously unreleased)
6)    Cry Wolf [Demo] - (previously unreleased)
7)    We're Looking For the Whales [Demo] - (previously unreleased)
8)    Weight of the Wind [Demo], The - (previously unreleased)
9)    Maybe, Maybe [Demo] - (previously unreleased)
10)    Soft Rains of April [Guitar Version] - (previously unreleased)
11)    Scoundrel Days [Octocon Studio Demo] - (previously unreleased)
12)    This Alone is Love [Original Version]
13)    Days On End
14)    Train of Thought [Live In Croydon] - (previously unreleased, live)
15)    I've Been Losing You [Live In Croydon] - (previously unreleased, live)
16)    Blue Sky [Live In Croydon], The - (previously unreleased, live)
17)    We're Looking For the Whales [Live In Croydon] - (previously unreleased, live)
18)    Cry Wolf [Live In Croydon] - (previously unreleased, live)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Morten Harket (vocals); Paul Waaktaar-Savoy (guitars); Magne Furuholmen (keyboards).
  • Audio Remasterers: Dave Schultz; Daniel Hersch; Bill Inglot.
  • Liner Note Author: Kieron Tyler.
  • Photographer: Knut Bry.
  • While not quite as strong as the band's debut, Scoundrel Days is still a-ha succeeding as a marketed "pretty boy" band which can connect musically and lyrically as much as any musical sacred cow. The opening two songs alone make for one of the best one-two opening punches around: the tense edge of the title track, featuring one of Morten Harket's soaring vocals during the chorus and a crisp, pristine punch in the music, and "The Swing of Things," a moody, elegant number with a beautiful synth/guitar arrangement (plus some fine drumming courtesy of studio pro Michael Sturgis) and utterly lovelorn lyrical sentiments that balance on the edge of being overheated without quite going over. Although the rest of the disc never quite hits as high as the opening, it comes close more often than not. A definite downturn is the band's occasional attempts to try and prove themselves as a "real" band by rocking out, as on "I've Been Losing You" -- there's really no need for it, and as a result they sound much more "fake," ironically enough. Other songs can perhaps only be explained by the need to translate lyrics -- "We're Looking for the Whales" isn't an environmental anthem, and neither is "Cry Wolf," but both also don't really succeed in using nature as romantic metaphor. When a-ha are on, though, they're on -- "October" snakes along on a cool bass/keyboard arrangement and a whispery vocal from Harket; "Maybe Maybe" is a quirky little pop number that's engagingly goofy; while "Soft Rains of April" captures the band at its most dramatic, with the string synths giving Harket a perfect bed to launch into a lovely vocal, concluding with a sudden, hushed whisper. The '80s may be long gone, but Scoundrel Days makes clear that not everything was bad back then. ~ Ned Raggett
Professional Reviews
Record Collector (magazine) (p.78) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Second album SCOUNDREL DAYS shows what high standards a-ha maintained..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Scoundrel Days [Bonus CD] [Bonus Tracks] [Digipak] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top