Download the Free Fishpond App!
Download on the App Store

Android App on Google play
Alfred, Lord Tennyson 2 Volume Set: A Memoir (Cambridge Library Collection - Literary Studies)

Already own it?

Sell Yours
Home » Books » Fiction & Literature » Literary Criticsm » European » English, Irish, Scottish, Welsh

Alfred, Lord Tennyson 2 Volume Set

A Memoir (Cambridge Library Collection - Literary Studies)

By Hallam Tennyson

Elsewhere $165 $119   Save $46.00 (28%)
or 4 easy payments of $29.75 with What's this?
Free shipping Australia wide
Ships from UK
Order Now for Christmas with e-Gift
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Format: Multiple copy pack, 1132 pages
Other Information: 24 b/w illus.
Published In: United Kingdom, 28 June 2012
Hallam Tennyson's biography of his father Alfred, Lord Tennyson, remains the authoritative source of information on the poet's life. Begun immediately after his death in 1892 and published five years later, this two-volume work was produced in order to 'preclude the chance of further and unauthentic biographies', and is formed largely of a wealth of documentary evidence: the letters, journals, and personal reminiscences of the poet and those close to him. Adhering to Tennyson's wishes, on his death his son and wife destroyed over three-quarters of the 40,000 letters he left behind, but those selected and reprinted here nonetheless give a fascinating insight into the personal life of the poet; guarded and respectful in its commemorative tone, but avoiding overzealous eulogy or critical review. Volume 1 covers the period up to 1864; Volume 2 continues to the poet's death, and includes short memoirs by many eminent Victorians.

Table of Contents

Volume 1: Preface; Chronology; 1. Boyhood; 2. Cambridge; 3. Cambridge, Somersby and Arthur Hallam; 4. Arthur Hallam; 5. The 1832 volume; 6. Visits to the Lakes and elsewhere; 7. Extracts from letters to Emily Sellwood; 8. London life and the 1842 volumes; 9. Reminiscences of Tennyson; 10. Letters; 11. Switzerland; 12. 'The Princess'; 13. Cheltenham, London, Cornwall, Scotland and Ireland; 14. 'In Memoriam'; 15. Marriage; 16. Cheltenham and Whitby; 17. Twickenham; 18. Farringdon; 19. 'Maud'; 20. Home life and Idylls of the King; 21. Tour in Cornwall and the Scilly Isles; 22. Farringford friends; 23. Derbyshire and Yorkshire; Appendix. Volume 2: 1. The 'Enoch Arden' volume; 2. My mother's journal and my father's letter-diaries; 3. Tour in Switzerland; 4. 'The Holy Grail', and my mother's journal; 5. The Idylls of the King and 'Balin and Balan'; 6. My mother's journal, and letters; 7. Metaphysical society; 8. Historical plays; 9. Reminiscences by the Rt Hon. W. E. H. Lecky; 10. Aldworth and London; 11. Death of Charles Turner; 12. Ballads and poems; 13. Spedding's death; 14. Voyage on the Pembroke Castle; 15. Peerage; 16. Letters; 17. Death of Lionel; 18. Society, politics, cruise in the Stella; 19. My father's illness; 20. 'Demeter and other poems'; 21. Old friends and new poems; 22. The last year; 23. The last chapter; Memoirs by various personages; Epilogue; Appendix; Index.

EAN: 9781108050272
ISBN: 1108050271
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Dimensions: 22.9 x 15.2 x 6.5 centimetres (1.75 kg)
Tell a friend

Their Email:

Sell Yours

Already own this item?
Sell Yours and earn some cash. It's fast and free to list! (Learn More.)

Review this Product


Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners

You can earn a 5% commission by selling Alfred, Lord Tennyson 2 Volume Set: A Memoir (Cambridge Library Collection - Literary Studies) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep!



Are you the Author/Publisher? Improve sales by submitting additional information on this title.


This item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.