Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

***WINNER*** Indie Reader Award for Best True Crime Book*** ***WINNER***Independent Publisher (IPPY) Bronze Medal Award for Best History Book 2014*** ***FINALIST*** Indie Excellence Award for Best True Crime Book (second place)*** Jack the Ripper stalked the streets of London's East End from August through November of 1888 in what is dubbed the 'Autumn of Terror'. However, the grisly ripping of Polly Nichols on August 31st was not the first unsolved murder of the year. The April murder of Emma Smith and the August murder of Martha Tabram both occurred on bank holidays. They baffled the police and press alike and were assumed by the original investigators to have been the first murders in the series. Where they correct? In this provocative work of literary archeology, author Tom Wescott places these early murders in their proper historical context and digs to unearth new evidence and hard facts not seen in over 125 years. The Bank Holiday Murders is the only book of its kind. It eschews the tired approach of unsatisfying 'final solutions' in favor of solid research, logical reasoning and new information. The clues followed are not drawn from imagination but from the actual police reports and press accounts of the time. The questions asked by Wescott are ones first suggested by the original investigators but lost to time until now. The answers provided are compelling and sometimes explosive. Among the revelations are: -New information linking the murders of Smith & Tabram to the same killer(s). -Proof that the police did not believe key witnesses in either case. -Proof that at least one of these witnesses was working with the murderer. -New evidence connecting many of the victims that may lead to their actual slayers. -Information on Emily Horsnell, the ACTUAL first Whitechapel murder victim. -The hidden truth of 'Leather Apron' and its role in unraveling the Ripper mystery. -Proof of a corrupt police sergeant who thwarted the investigation. Was he protecting the Ripper? -Much more. The Bank Holiday Murders: The True Story of the First Whitechapel Murders brings us closer than ever to the actual truth behind the Jack the Ripper story and is sure to appeal to fans of Paul Begg, Stewart P. Evans, Philip Sugden, Donald Rumbelow, Ann Rule, Patricia Cornwell as well as readers of Victorian true crime, true life mysteries and historical cold cases in general.
Product Details
Look for similar items by category
Home » Books » Nonfiction » Crime » Murder » Serial Killers
People also searched for
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Bank Holiday Murders: The True Story of the First Whitechapel Murders on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top