Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Baudolino
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

An extraordinary, epic, brilliantly-imagined new novel from a world-class writer.

About the Author

Umberto Eco (1932-2016) wrote fiction, literary criticism and philosophy. His first novel, The Name of the Rose, was a major international bestseller. His other works include Foucault's Pendulum, The Island of the Day Before, Baudolino, The Mysterious Flame of Queen Loana, The Prague Cemetery and Numero Zero along with many brilliant collections of essays.

Reviews

Brother William of Baskerville heads to an Italian abbey in The Name of the Rose. Father Caspar sails the seven seas in The Island of the Day Before. Eco's characters are forever on the move, and his new protagonist is no exception. In 1204, as Constantinople is being plucked apart by knights of the Fourth Crusade, a hapless courtier named Niketas is rescued by Baudolino - adopted son of the emperor known as Barbarossa and a man with a fantastic tale to tell. And tell it he does, to the obliging Niketas, in over 500 pages of elaborate, historically precise detail. Baudolino's journey takes him from northern Italy, where as a clever peasant boy he encounters Barbarossa and is immediately taken to court, to studies in Paris, travels throughout Italy to defend Barbarossa's cause, and finally a quest deep into the East, where he hopes to find the magical kingdom of Prester John. If you have time to sink yourself deep into the text, this can be a delicious read, but there is less of the sparkling, diamond-cut investigation of ideas that can make Eco so much fun to read, and Baudolino's backing-and-forthing can get a bit tedious. Still, Eco is ever popular, this book is getting a big push, and Baudolino's adventures should please anyone looking for the ultimate medieval road novel. [Previewed in Prepub Alert, LJ 6/1/02.] - Barbara Hoffert, "Library Journal" Copyright 2002 Cahners Business Information.

Readers admire Eco the semiotician, but they love Eco the novelist. Here, he returns to his old stomping ground the Middle Ages to relate the story of a quest for a priceless relic that is prompted by an imaginary map. This book is not currently available in English. Copyright 2001 Cahners Business Information.

"A whirlwind of an adventure- and has everything - myths, marvels, monsters, murders, mysteries" * Financial Times *
"Here is the Eco of The Name of the Rose...poised, mischievous and erudite, the fruit of extraordinary knowledge" * Washington Post *
"[Eco] has given us, in the book's central character, a grand and sympathetic figure in the tradition of Candide and Sancho Panza" * Independent on Sunday *
"Mixing pages of intellectual discussion and exhilarating comedy - further reveals Eco's practically inexhaustible erudition" * Irish Times *
"A richly entertaining novel" * Sunday Times *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Baudolino on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top