SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Turn your Clutter Into Cash with SmartSell.TM Book a Courier Pickup Today!

The Beige Man
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Helene Tursten was a nurse and a dentist before she turned to writing. Other books in the Irene Huss series include Detective Inspector Huss, Night Rounds, The Torso, The Glass Devil, The Golden Calf, The Fire Dance, and The Treacherous Net. She was born in G teborg, Sweden, where she now lives with her husband and daughter.

Reviews

Praise for The Beige Man "The cast of characters is a colorful array, each officer vividly and individually drawn . . . Thoroughly engaging and convincingly unraveled."
--Pittsburgh Post-Gazette "Celebrate whenever more of G teborg Insp. Irene Huss's police adventures get translated from Swedish . . . They're rip-snorting reads with a highly likable hero."
--Winnipeg Free Press "Fans of Henning Mankell and Jo Nesb are sure to enjoy this novel, and though it's not the first book in the series, readers new to Tursten's work can enjoy it without any difficulty."
--Shelf Awareness "Excellent . . . Tursten paints a compelling, flawed, and empathetic heroine who's also very appealing. DI Huss is the kind of cop that we'd all want investigating our case."
--Mystery Scene "Helene Tursten never disappoints. Fans of police procedurals will want to acquaint themselves with this superior series, quickly and completely."
--Bookreporter.com "The Beige Man is a strong entry in this series."
--Mysterious Reviews "Helene Tursten's police procedural series, set in G teborg, Sweden's second-largest city, does a good job of straddling the line between dark, gritty realism and a more lighthearted and hopeful view of the world."
--Reviewing the Evidence

"Fans of Henning Mankell and H kan Nesser will enjoy Tursten. For readers new to the series, there is no need to start at the beginning. Allow yourself time, this can be easily read in one sitting."
--Library Journal, Starred Review "Two cases that arise on the same wintry night in G teborg, Sweden, propel Tursten's excellent seventh mystery featuring Det. Insp. Irene Huss . . . Cleverly, Tursten doesn't reveal the significance of the beige man of the title until the last page."
--Publishers Weekly, Starred Review "Effectively puzzling till the final pages, rewardingly logical in its conclusion: One of Irene's best."
--Kirkus Reviews "Tursten again masterfully blends a well-paced procedural with a broader social issue and the personal lives of members of the G teborg, Sweden, police force. Superior Scandinavian crime fiction with a feminist bent."
--Booklist "Truly puzzling . . . and Huss is interesting whether she's at home or on the job."
--Kittling Books "Stockholm gets all the press, but Gothenburg brings in the tourists with its annual film festival and largest port in the Nordic countries. Who needs that girl with the dragon tattoo when Swedish best-seller Tursten is on the case?"
--Fisher Island Magazine Praise for the Irene Huss series

"As good as Louise Welsh's similarly creepy tour of Glasgow."
--Entertainment Weekly

"These days Scandinavian crime writers are thick on the ground. It's nice to see that the women can be just as bloodthirsty as the men."
--The New York Times Book Review "[Tursten] imbues this novel with a cold chill of dread that can't be attributed only to the subfreezing temperatures of G teborg in winter."
--Chicago Sun Times "Truly satisfying."
--
Philadelphia Inquirer

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Beige Man on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top