SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Body Lies
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

A Guardian Best Summer read - a propulsive, highly topical thriller for fans of LULLABY and APPLE TREE YARD

About the Author

JO BAKER is the author of the acclaimed and bestselling LONGBOURN and A COUNTRY ROAD, A TREE. Her new novel, THE BODY LIES, is a thrilling contemporary novel that explores violence against women in fiction but is also a disarming story of sexual politics. Jo Baker lives with her family in Lancashire.

Reviews

"Build-up of tension is EXCELLENT" * Daily Mail *
"Packs a powerful punch on every page" * Red Magazine *
"Gripping ... with lots to say about sexual politics" * Good Housekeeping *
"This superior thriller looks at how novels represent violence through the story of a creative writing teacher who finds herself trapped between the borders of life and fiction after recognising herself in a story written by one of her students" * METRO *
"Powerful read" * Prima Magazine *
"Jo Baker's THE BODY LIES is gripping and strange in the best possible way: the perfect marriage of risky literary fiction and full-on thriller." * MARIA SEMPLE, bestselling author of Where d'ya go, Bernadette? *
"This page-turning thrilller has a sympathetic and utterly believable heroine, but it's also an examination of how women's bodies are treated, in life and in fiction." * The Bookseller *
"A literary exploration of consent, entitlement and how narratives can be bent, misappropriated and wrested back. I loved it." * SARAH VAUGHAN, bestselling author of THE ANATOMY OF A SCANDAL *
"A shrewdly layered thriller that unflinchingly tackles the quagmire of pressure, judgement and ever-present danger women navigate in their daily lives" * Herald Scotland *
"Powerful and moving, I read The Body Lies in one sitting. As a thriller, it grips and shocks: as a portrayal of the way women move through the world, and the way men see them, it has never been more timely. Absolutely stunning." * ERIN KELLY, bestselling author of HE SAID/SHE SAID *
"A story of female response to male threat, boosted by questions of literary expression... Baker's fans will enjoy the crisp descriptive writing and insightful nuances" * Kirkus Reviews *
"All too plausible, Baker's powerful tale is at times heart-rending to read-and impossible to put down." * Publishers Weekly *
"The beauty and structure of Baker's language, the way she decided to tell this particular story, the suspense... It has stayed in my head for days." * Jamie Southern, Bookmarks, NC *
"The Body Lies is so much more than just a thriller. It's a literary analysis on the way that our social environment shapes creative writing and individual voice; a heartfelt depiction of assault-related trauma and the associated anxiety and depression; an incisive commentary on the constant, subtle ways that women's consent is invalidated. And on top of all that it's a riveting, compelling murder mystery, intensely readable." * Genevieve Taylor, Boulder Bookstore, CO *
"Jo Baker makes a huge departure in style with this menacing story of a student and teacher. A young college instructor begins to see entirely too much of herself in the work of one of her writing students who claims to only "write the truth." As the threats become more overt, the stakes increase until it becomes unclear who will triumph in this game of cat and mouse. This nail biter of a novel will leave readers deeply unsettled and checking the door locks."" * Pamela Klinger-Horn, Excelsior Bay Books, Excelsior, Minnesota *
"Baker's powerful tale is at times heart-rending to read-and impossible to put down." * Publishers' Weekly US *
"Beyond the twists and turns of the thriller, The Body Lies also stands out for its careful examination of the role of women, both in these thriller novels and within society, making this book a powerful and unnerving read with thrills that run much deeper than your average surface shocks ... Impossible to put down." * Culturefly *
"Baker's layered and sharply observed writing feels authentic from the first . . . Moving beyond boundaries to divine the essence of what it is to be a woman navigating life in modern-day Britain." * Claire Thinking *
"An essential book for our times . . . this is a thrilling, gripping read" * Tales Before Bedtime *
"The depth and style of literary fiction [with] the thrill of a more contemporary read" * Cheryl M-M's Book Blog *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
People also searched for
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Body Lies on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top