COVID-19 Response at Fishpond.com.au

Read what we're doing...

Bone Song
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

As KEEPING IT REAL was a reinvention for Justina Robson and transformed her sales, so will BONE SONG be for John Meaney A move away from his hard-SF to a new, fast moving mix of SF and Horror Will appeal to fans of both China Mieville and Richard Morgan John Meaney is already established as one of the key names in the current renaissance in British SF. John Meaney has been twice shortlisted for BSFA Best Novel award 'The first important new SF writer of the 21st century' THE TIMES

About the Author

John Meaney is the author of To Hold Infinity, Paradox Context and Resolution. To Hold Infinity and Paradox were on the BSFA shortlists for Best Novel in 1999 and 2001 respectively. The Times called John Meaney "The first important new sf writer of the 21st century." Meaney has a degree in physics and computer science, and holds a black belt in Shotokan Karate. He lives in Kent.

Reviews

This melange of mystery, dark fantasy and over-the-top gothic horror marks a dramatic departure from Meaney's existential SF epic, the Nulapeiron Sequence. In Tristopolis, where corpses are incinerated by the thousands to produce the "necroflux" that sustains the city and its undead inhabitants, police lieutenant Donal Riordan learns that a disturbingly well-organized cult is killing the world's most talented artists. Tasked with keeping a visiting opera diva safe, the intrepid cop soon finds himself caught up in a sweeping necromantic conspiracy that could involve the very highest ranks of government. Meaney makes extensive use of dark colors and gothic imagery ("a golden clock, formed of interlocking metal bones"; "the bat-winged ambulance"), and Tristopolis is at times more fascinating than its inhabitants or the relatively conventional hard-boiled story line. With many plot threads left untied or simply ignored, readers will have to wait until future installments to pass judgment on this ambitious saga. (Feb.) Copyright 2007 Reed Business Information.

"Meaney's creepy, death-haunted world lingers in the long after the book is closed. A smart and spooky read." THE TIMES "Filmic action aplenty and lots of weird imagery." SFX "Fast paced, very entertaining and out of the ordinary. Meaney throws together familiar elements of multiple genres and creates something both haunting and engaging. SFFWORLD.COM "Bone Song is crisply written and the gruesome aspects of Tristopolis are vividly portrayed." -- Eric Brown THE GUARDIAN "Think Dirty Harry in a city created by the bastard love-child of Jeff VanderMeer and China Mieville. The backdrop of a hardboiled crime plot cleverly disguises stories of human interaction, trust, mistrust, loyalty, morality, acceptance, and love while delivering a great mystery." NETH SPACE. COM

In a city based around death, murder still stands out as a crime-particularly when the murderer is targeting celebrities. Police Lieutenant Donal Riordan's task is to prevent any more murders in the vast necropolis known as Tristopolis. Together with a "para-live" female agent who holds a forbidden attraction for him, they search through a world filled with zombies, spirit slaves, and other strange beings, some living, some not quite alive. Dark, humorous, and in places, poignant, Meaney's (Sharp Tang; To Hold Infinity) series opener blends gothic urban fantasy with sf and horror to create a uniquely atmospheric detective thriller that belongs in most libraries. Copyright 2008 Reed Business Information.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Bone Song on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top