How does Fishpond Work?

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

For fans of Pseudonymous Bosch, Coraline, and Septimus Heap comes the first book in the award-winning, New York Times bestselling Books of Elsewhere series. This house is keeping secrets . . . When eleven-year-old Olive and her parents move into the crumbling mansion on Linden Street and find it filled with mysterious paintings, Olive knows the place is creepy but it isn t until she encounters its three talking cats that she realizes there s something darkly magical afoot. Then Olive finds a pair of antique spectacles in a dusty drawer and discovers the most peculiar thing yet: She can travel inside the house s spooky paintings to a world that s strangely quiet . . . and eerily sinister. But in entering Elsewhere, Olive has been ensnared in a mystery darker and more dangerous than she could have imagined, confronting a power that wants to be rid of her by any means necessary. With only the cats and an unusual boy she meets in Elsewhere on her side, it s up to Olive to save the house from the shadows, before the lights go out for good."
Product Details

About the Author

A two-time Pushcart nominee for poetry, Jacqueline West lives in Chilton, Wisconsin. This is her first novel.

Reviews

Gr 4-6-Jacqueline West's debut novel (Dial, 2010) follows a young girl's intriguing and thrilling adventures as she enters the fantasy world of Elsewhere. Olive, 11, spends much of her summer exploring her family's new home. The previous owner of this crumbling Victorian mansion died and left everything in the house to the new owners. Olive discovers a pair of spectacles that allow her to dive in and out of the mysterious paintings that fill the old home. Three talking cats seem to be helping and protecting Olive, but as she begins to put more puzzle pieces together, she realizes that she may be in some danger and the eccentric cats are not to be trusted. Narrator Lexy Fridell maintains a quick pace as the suspense builds. She gives all the characters distinct and interesting voices, especially those peculiar cats. Fans of Neal Gaiman's Coraline will find many appealing similarities with the story, and listeners who like a fast-paced adventure will enjoy this audio version.-April Mazza, Wayland Public Library, MA (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Books of Elsewhere, Vol. 1: The Shadows: The Shadows (Books of Elsewhere (Cloth)) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top