SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Brain on Fire
By

Rating
New or Used: $12.40
Product Details

Trailer

About the Author

Susannah Cahalan is a news reporter at the New York Post whose award-winning work has also been featured in The New York Times. She lives in Jersey City, New Jersey.

Reviews

"Captivating...Cahalan's prose carries a sharp, unsparing tabloid punch in the tradition of Pete Hamill and Jimmy Breslin."--New York Times Book Review "A fascinating look at the disease that - if not for a nick-of-time diagnosis - could have cost this vibrant, vital young woman her life."--People magazine "Swift and haunting."--Scientific American "An intense, mesmerizing account of survival. . . Cahalan's deft descriptions of her spooky hallucinations could be right out of a Poe terror tale."--BookForum "For the neurologist, I highly recommend this book on several grounds...First, it is a well-told story, worth reading for the suspense and the dramatic cadence of events...Second, it is a superb case study of a rare neurologic diagnosis; even experienced neurologists will find much to learn in it...Third, and most important, it gives the neurologist insight into how a patient and her family experienced a complex illness, including the terrifying symptoms, the difficult pace of medical diagnosis, and the slow recovery. This story clearly contains lessons for all of us."--Cognitive and Behavioral Neurology "Focusing her journalistic toolbox on her story, Cahalan untangles the medical mystery surrounding her condition...A fast-paced and well-researched trek through a medical mystery to a hard-won recovery."--Publishers Weekly "What is most impressive about "Brain on Fire" is that Cahalan has little recollection of her month of insanity.... Thanks partially to her talent as a journalist and to the fact that her parents kept journals, Cahalan was able to recapture her month, leaving no holes in the narrative."--The Daily Texan "Compelling...a New York Post reporter recounts her medical nightmare."--Mental Floss "The best reporters never stop asking questions, and Cahalan is no exception...The result is a kind of anti-memoir, an out-of-body personal account of a young woman's fight to survive one of the cruelest diseases imaginable. And on every level, it's remarkable.....Cahalan is nothing if not tenacious, and she perfectly tempers her brutal honesty with compassion and something like vulnerability. It's indisputable that Cahalan is a gifted reporter, and Brain on Fire is a stunningly brave book. But even more than that, she's a naturally talented prose stylist -- whip-smart but always unpretentious -- and it's nearly impossible to stop reading her, even in the book's most painful passages....Brain on Fire comes from a place of intense pain and unthinkable isolation, but finds redemption in Cahalan's unflagging, defiant toughness. It's an unexpected gift of a book from one of America's most courageous young journalists."--NPR.org "This fascinating memoir by a young New York Post reporter...describes how she crossed the line between sanity and insanity...Cahalan expertly weaves together her own story and relevant scientific information...compelling."--Booklist (starred review) "The bizarre and confounding illness that beset the 24-year-old New York Post reporter in early 2009 so ravaged her mentally and physically that she became unrecognizable to coworkers, family, friends, and--most devastatingly--herself... She dedicates this miracle of a book to 'those without a diagnosis'... [An] unforgettable memoir."--Elle

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Books » Biography » Medical
Home » Books » Science » Medicine » Diseases
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Brain on Fire: My Month of Madness on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top