Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Chef
By

Rating
New or Used: $14.00
Product Details

Promotional Information

A stunning debut from an author to watch who has already been shortlisted for four literary awards including the Commonwealth Prize for Best Book For fans of Kazuo Ishiguro, Graham Greene, Rohinton Mistry and Michael Ondaatje Exposes the fascinating region of Kashmir which is constantly in the press but under-represented in literature

About the Author

Jaspreet Singh is a former research scientist who holds a PhD in chemical engineering from McGill University. His debut collection of short stories, Seventeen Tomatoes: Tales from Kashmir won the 2004 McAuslan First Book Prize, and his stories have appeared in The Walrus and Zoetrope. Born in Punjab and brought up in Kashmir, Singh now lives in British Columbia.

Reviews

'A fascinating, kaleidoscopic journey through one of the most beautiful yet besieged areas in the world - Jaspreet Singh brings out the full poetry and heartbreak of Kashmir' Manil Suri 'Extraordinary...Chef is an elegant, angry novel ... worthy to stand among the finest of Indian writing, while also being different' Irish Times 'The disputed region of Kashmir forms the elegiac backdrop to an episodic, image- rich work' Guardian 'Singh writes of a beautiful place that dances on the razor wire of India and Pakistan's disputed border. His prose redefines an exhausted situation, giving it new light' The Times

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Chef on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top