Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Clash Of Civilizations Over An Elevator In Piazza Vittorio, A Novel
By

Rating
Product Details

About the Author

Amara Lakhous was born in Algiers in 1970. Clash of Civilizations Over an Elevator in Piazza Vittorio won Italy's prestigious Flaiano Prize and prompted the critic Carlin Romano to ask in the Philadelphia Inquirer, "Do we have an Italian Alberto Camus on our hands?". Lakhous is also the author of Divorce Islamic Style and Dispute Over a Very Italian Piglet.

Reviews

Praise for Clash of Civilizations Over an Elevator in Piazza Vittorio "Recalls Naguib Mahfouz's epic about slices of Egyptian popular life in the 'The Cairo Trilogy' of the 1950s. The rich variety of characters and psychological understanding place Mr. Lakhous in the tradition of Balzac and Dickens." --The Washington Times "The author's real subject is the heave and crush of modern, polyglot Rome, and he renders the jabs of everyday speech with such precision that the novel feels exclaimed rather than written." --The New Yorker "Intriguing psychological and social insight alongside a playful whodunit plot, exposing the power of fear, racial prejudice and cultural misconception to rob a neighborhood of its humanity." --Publishers Weekly "No recent Italian novel so elegantly and directly confronts the 'new Italy.'" --Philadelphia Inquirer "What's memorable about Lakhous' novel is what he shows us of an often inward-looking nation confronting the teeming vibrancy of multicultural life." --NPR's Fresh Air "A satirical, enigmatic take in the racial tensions that afflict present-day Europe." --Brooklyn Rail ?The real protagonist here is the piazza itself, its life made up of many lives intertwined, its chaotic vitality. Read this book, it's well worth the effort. It represents a new look at a new city.? ?"La Repubblica" ?An authentic publishing success . . . This is the first time that a writer born outside of Italy has created a text that can be considered thoroughly Italian.? ?"Liberazione" ?Enthralling, funny, playful.? ?"Corriere della Sera" The real protagonist here is the piazza itself, its life made up of many lives intertwined, its chaotic vitality. Read this book, it s well worth the effort. It represents a new look at a new city. "La Repubblica" An authentic publishing success . . . This is the first time that a writer born outside of Italy has created a text that can be considered thoroughly Italian. "Liberazione" Enthralling, funny, playful. "Corriere della Sera" aThe real protagonist here is the piazza itself, its life made up of many lives intertwined, its chaotic vitality. Read this book, itas well worth the effort. It represents a new look at a new city.a a"La Repubblica" aAn authentic publishing success . . . This is the first time that a writer born outside of Italy has created a text that can be considered thoroughly Italian.a a"Liberazione" aEnthralling, funny, playful.a a"Corriere della Sera"

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
People also searched for
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Clash Of Civilizations Over An Elevator In Piazza Vittorio, A Novel: Europa Editions on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top