COVID-19 Response at Fishpond.com.au

Read what we're doing...

Constitutions in Crisis
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Reviews

"[An] exciting study of how constitutional systems cope with political violence....Finn advances his argument not only persuasively and with great clarity but also with passion."--Times Higher Education Supplement "A very useful study of constitution-maintenance in extreme situations....Searching scholarship and alertness to the terrible distorting demands of political self-preservation are especially prominent here. Recommended for all college and university collections as well as libraries seeking to serve informed general readers."--Choice "Well written and soundly researched. A first class study, on a comparative basis, of anti-terrorist legislation in western democracies."--John F. Murphy, School of Law, Villanova University "This is an insightful book that moves gracefully from fact to theory and tells some dramatic stories in between. At a time when comparativists are once again recognizing the importance of institutions and constitutions, this book is an especially important contribution to the study of politics."--Nancy Bermeo, Princeton University "Finn's important book is in the tradition of Corwin, Rossiter, Friedrich, but he has asked questions they left unresolved. A provocative work, this will be the leading study in the field for years to come."--Walter F. Murphy, Princeton University "[An] exciting study of how constitutional systems cope with political violence....Finn advances his argument not only persuasively and with great clarity but also with passion."--Times Higher Education Supplement "A very useful study of constitution-maintenance in extreme situations....Searching scholarship and alertness to the terrible distorting demands of political self-preservation are especially prominent here. Recommended for all college and university collections as well as libraries seeking to serve informed general readers."--Choice "Well written and soundly researched. A first class study, on a comparative basis, of anti-terrorist legislation in western democracies."--John F. Murphy, School of Law, Villanova University "This is an insightful book that moves gracefully from fact to theory and tells some dramatic stories in between. At a time when comparativists are once again recognizing the importance of institutions and constitutions, this book is an especially important contribution to the study of politics."--Nancy Bermeo, Princeton University "Finn's important book is in the tradition of Corwin, Rossiter, Friedrich, but he has asked questions they left unresolved. A provocative work, this will be the leading study in the field for years to come."--Walter F. Murphy, Princeton University "Finn's three part study is a particularly worthy contribution to the quest for solutions within the liberal/analytical tradition."--Northern Ireland Legal Quarterly "Enlightening and substantive....The value of Finn's book is that it provides for those not squeamish about thinking in terms of universals, and who are committed to constitutional maintenance, a means by which to retain that commitment, even in the face of constitutional crisis. In the process, following Finn, they will neither lose the courage of their convictions nor inadvertently jeopardize their constitutional government as did the Weimar republicans. Finn has thus provided a valuable prop with which to help shore up constitutional democracy at its most critically vulnerable moments."--The Review of Politics "The detailed discussion of how British regulations since the 1920s have worked is informative and impressive....Constitutions in Crisis is a fair-minded, careful, illuminating, and well-written book that will deeply interest a wide range of political scientists--specialists in constitutional law, political theory, comparative politics, and terrorist studies."--American Political Science Review

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling Constitutions in Crisis: Political Violence and the Rule of Law on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond Retail Limited.
Back to top