COVID-19 Response at Fishpond.com.au

Read what we're doing...

The Convictions of John Delahunt
By

Rating
Hurry - Only 3 left in stock!

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

Set in Dublin in the 1840s and based on the true story of the murder of a child, this dazzling literary debut - at once a historical novel and crime thriller - will appeal to fans of Andrew Taylor, Andrew Miller and Peter Ackroyd.

About the Author

Born in Co. Wexford, ANDREW HUGHES was educated at Trinity College, Dublin. A qualified archivist, he worked for RTE before going freelance. It was while researching his acclaimed social history of Fitzwilliam Square - Lives Less Ordinary- Dublin?s Fitzwilliam Square, 1798-1922 - that he first came across the true story of John Delahunt that inspired his debut novel, The Convictions of John Delahunt. Andrew Hughes lives in Dublin.

Reviews

A quite exceptional novel . . . The world he creates has echoes of Kafka and Orwell . . . totally convincing. It draws you in like a trap. * C. J. SANSOM, author of Dissolution and Winter in Madrid *
Unputdownable . . . chillingly portrayed . . . a highly sophisticated first novel. * CHARLES PALLISER, author of The Quincunx *
Compelling and eerily authentic . . . Read it and be grateful to be alive in our day and age. * ROBERT GODDARD *
A dark, original story wrapped in a wonderful gothic gloom . . . it's a tough act to pull off, but Andrew Hughes manages it with brio. I heard echoes of James Hogg and Robert Louis Stevenson. * ANDREW TAYLOR, author of The American Boy and The Scent of Death *
Reminiscent of John Banville's The Book of Evidence . . . a bracing, lurid tale that is as engrossing as it is chilling. -- Declan Burke * IRISH INDEPENDENT *
A vivid piece of writing . . . brings to mind Andrew Miller's Costa-winning novel, Pure. * IRISH TIMES *
Extraordinarily detailed world, impeccably researched . . . so superbly written that it soars as a masterly work of fiction . . . utterly compelling. -- Dermot Bolger * IRISH MAIL ON SUNDAY *
An intriguing debut (that) sets out Hughes as one to watch. * SUNDAY TIMES IRELAND *
A skilfully planned, elegantly written debut . . . a riveting read. * SUNDAY INDEPENDENT *
Stupendous: a brilliant achievement for a first novel, completely compelling and with a perfectly damaged central character. * MANDA SCOTT *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling The Convictions of John Delahunt on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top