SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

It is 1918 and the world is at war. But this feels a million miles away for Laurel Shelton. In the house where her parents toiled and died, in the wilds of the Appalachian Mountains, Laurel aches for her life to begin. And then one day a stranger is discovered in the cove near her house. What follows is an unforgettable story of love, fate and divided loyalties.
Product Details

Promotional Information

'A mesmerising novel of love and betrayal that stays singularly in the mind after it has finished' Observer

About the Author

Ron Rash is an award-winning novelist, short-story writer and poet. A major film adaptation of his New York Times bestselling novel Serena, is set to be released in May 2013. His most recent short story collection, Burning Bright, won the 2010 Frank O'Connor International Short Story Award. He lives in the Appalachian Mountains, USA.

Reviews

Rash tells great stories, raw and powerful ... He understands the way life works * * Irish Times * * An unmitigated joy to read * * Independent on Sunday * * Ron Rash is the best American novelist I have come upon in the last twenty years * * Scotsman * * Exquisite. A breathless sequence of events lead the book to its devastating final sentence * * New York Times * * Recalls both Steinbeck and Cormac McCarthy * * New Yorker * * The Cove is a novel that speaks intimately to today's politics. Beautifully written, tough, raw, uncompromising, entirely new. Ron Rash is a writer's writer who writes for others -- Colum McCann Ron Rash is a writer of both the darkly beautiful and the sadly true; The Cove solidifies his reputation as one of our very finest novelists -- Richard Russo, author of EMPIRE FALLS When writers gather and tipple while discussing those not present at the table but admired, the name Ron Rash quickly comes up. He uses language wiith such apparently effortless skill that it is as though he found words in his barn as a child and has been training them to fit his needs ever since. There's not much he doesn't know about humans in turmoil, or his region, a place where nothing ever changes until all of a sudden it does and often too much. Rash throws a big shadow now and it's only going to get bigger -- Daniel Woodrell, author of WINTER'S BONE The Cove is a marvelous novel, bristling with power, humanity and the exceptional quality of characterisation and storytelling we have come to expect from Ron Rash -- Irvine Welsh Remarkable . . . Mr. Rash certainly knows how to rivet attention * * New York Times on Burning Bright * * Finds a narrow sweet spot between Raymond Carver and William Faulkner * * Washington Post on Burning Bright * * This book calls to mind Snow Falling on Cedars and Cold Mountain, but the poet in Ron Rash and his lyrical prose elevate this novel to its "Book of the Year" status * * Irish Times on Serena * * Serena could sit comfortably on any bookshelf alongside Cormac McCarthy or Charles Frazier . . . it's a spectacular book * * Guardian * * A superb book written by a talented author. Fans of Cormac McCarthy and John Steinbeck will love The Cove * * Nudge * *

Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Cove on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top