Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Crossing
By

Rating
New or Used: 2 copies from $8.20
New or Used: 2 copies from $8.20

Product Description
Product Details

Mandy Hager is a Wellington author and educator. She won the Esther Glen Award for Fiction for her novel Smashed.

Promotional Information

Outstanding fiction from the award winning author of Smashed

About the Author

Mandy Hager has been awarded the Katherine Mansfield Menton fellowship for 2014, and she was the 2012 recipient of the New Zealand Society of Authors Beatson Fellowship. She won the Esther Glen Award for Fiction for her YA novel Smashed and Best Young Adult Book in the NZ Post Book Awards 2010 for The Crossing. The Nature of Ash won the LIANZA YA Fiction Award in 2013 and was shortlisted for the 2013 NZ Post Children's Book Awards. Hager has a MA in Creative Writing from Victoria University and an Advanced Diploma in Applied Arts (Writing) from Whitireia Community Polytechnic, where she now works as a tutor and mentor. She lives with her partner on the Kapiti Coast. She has written novels for adults and young adults, short stories, scripts, and non-fiction resources for young people. See more at www.mandyhager.com, and on her Facebook pages for the Blood of the Lamb trilogy and for The Nature of Ash. Internationally acclaimed writer Margaret Mahy proclaimed The Crossing as being like '1984 for teenagers - direct, passionate and powerful', while in the Otago Daily Times children's writer and reviewer Tania Roxborogh similarly drew comparisons between this 'important book' and other literary classics, declaring it 'utterly compelling ... very much in the vein of Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale or Lowry's The Giver'. The New Zealand Listener identified The Crossing as 'classic young adult fiction', describing it as 'fast-paced, moving and the personal is always political ... tracking the journey from childhood to adulthood ... [with] an authentic, fully realised sense of place'. The second title in the Blood of the Lamb trilogy, Into the Wilderness, was described by the Listener as a 'sustained, gripping piece of writing, a visceral battle against the elements'. The trilogy concluded with the 'gripping, futuristic'Resurrection. Stand-alone thriller The Nature of Ash received a glowing review from Zac Harding of Christchurch City Library: 'Mandy Hager has set a new standard in thrilling, action-packed stories for NZ teens with her new book, The Nature of Ash, and I'll say it can proudly stand alongside these international, best-selling dystopian thrillers ... The Nature of Ash is an exciting, explosive, action-packed thriller that had me on the edge of my seat from start to finish ... Ash is one of the most authentic male teen characters in New Zealand fiction. ' Graham Beattie on Beattie's Blog, concurred: 'It is not often you would describe a YA novel as a blockbuster but in this case it is totally appropriate ... This 364-page totally gripping Wellington-set thriller has been getting rave reviews around the country and now having read the story myself I am not at all surprised. Action-packed, fast-paced stuff ... Watch out for it in next year's book awards. ' Pip Cole in Tearaway declared herself 'enthralled', while Diane McCarthy commended the real, contemporary settings of this 'political ... futuristic' novel, saying they gave 'some real grit and realism'. She praised Hager for being 'very brave' - 'I don't know of many authors who write political thrillers for teens. ' The Saturday Express saw The Nature of Ash as having wider appeal than the average teen novel, 'part coming-of-age novel, part future warning of where we could end up, politically and socially'. The reviewer noted the 'strong underlying themes of accepting those who are different, standing up for what you believe is important, and self-acceptance', concluding 'Hager could well be New Zealand's answer to Aussie writer John Marsden'.

Reviews

Gr 8 Up-Maryam has only known one thing her whole life: to blindly follow the tenets of her religious community without question or thought. She lives on Onewere, a small island in the South Pacific that was chosen as a place to live by the Apostles of the Lamb after the world was destroyed by The Tribulation. The Apostles believe that they exist in the form of the living God on Earth and control all of the native inhabitants from an old cruise ship that is referred to as the Holy City. Maryam is among a group of native girls referred to as The Chosen. They are raised to be servants to the Apostles and reside on the ship. Once a chosen girl is old enough, she makes the crossing to live the rest of her days as a server of the Holy City. When Maryam initially makes the crossing, she is filled with the innocent joy of fulfilling her religious destiny. Her feelings are shaken to the core once she discovers the harsh reality of ship life and the true meaning for why she was chosen. A disturbing dip into how abuse of power can lead to racist ignorance and dangerous gender and social discrimination, this book will appeal to readers who love dystopian adventures.-Sabrina Carnesi, Crittenden Middle School, Newport News, VA (c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Books » Children's » Fiction » General
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Crossing on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top