Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Crown
By

Rating
For secrets this deadly, blood will dye the throne of a nation... A superb Tudor novel from the author of THE CHALICE. London, May 1537. As those closest to the throne are locked in a fierce fight against those desperate to save England's monasteries from destruction, young Joanna Stafford faces a far more personal battle. When Joanna learns her cousin is about to be burned at the stake for rebelling against Henry VIII, she makes a decision that will change not only her life, but quite possibly the fate of a nation. It will mean turning her back on everything she knows, for Joanna is a novice at Dartford Priory - and to save her family, she must break the sacred rule of enclosure. But running away is only the first transgression. From the Tower of London, to secret assignations and from Stonehenge to the royal court - Joanna becomes entangled with a secret whose deadly past stretches farther back than anyone had imagined. As her mission draws a trail in blood from the last whispered words of a queen to a pattern of unnatural deaths in the royal lineage, Joanna must determine who to trust, and how far she's willing to go to protect her life, her family and everything she holds dear.
Product Details

Promotional Information

For secrets this deadly, blood will dye the throne of a nation... A superb Tudor novel from the author of THE CHALICE.

Promotional Information

For secrets this deadly, blood will dye the throne of a nation... A superb Tudor novel from the author of THE CHALICE.

About the Author

Nancy Bilyeau's acclaimed first novel, THE CROWN, was shortlisted for the CWA Ellis Peters Dagger Award for historical fiction and dubbed 'the year's most impressive debut' by the judging panel. It took five years to research and write. Her second novel, THE CHALICE, was the winner of the Best Historical Mystery novel at the RT Book Reviews Awards. Her screenplays have placed as finalist in several prominent industry competitions, including the NICHOLL FELLOWSHIP, PAGE INTERNATIONAL SCREENWRITING AWARDS, SCRIPTAPALOOZA, and Francis Ford Coppola's AMERICAN ZOETROPE COMPETITION. Nancy, a magazine editor, lives in New York City with her family. Find out more about Nancy and her lifelong passion for Tudor history via her website, www.nancybilyeau.com Facebook/NancyBilyeauAuthor @TudorScribe

Reviews

Joanna Stafford is a young novice caught up in power struggles familiar to readers of Mantel and CJ Sansom, but with the elements of magic that echo the historical thrillers of Kate Mosse. * MSLEXIA * A Historical Fiction title that not only brought together the elements of the historical beautifully but also wove a mystery within that kept me glued from start to finish...a cracking read. * FALCATA TIMES * With a strong protagonist and some well-drawn characters, there are political intrigues, power struggles and deadly encounters in this novel of mystery and suspense. * CHOICE MAGAZINE * The events of the period come to life in Nancy Bilyeau's dazzling and heart-wrenching novel. The Crown is is evocative, provocative, and full of intriguing characters - a gorgeously written novel that has mystery and history, pathos and depth. This is a stunning debut about a woman whose spirit shines through and deeply moves the reader -- M J Rose Nancy Bilyeau's polished, inventive debut has all the ingredients of the best historical fiction: a broad cast of characters, well-imagined settings, and vivid story-telling...In Joanna Stafford, Bilyeau has given us a memorable character who us prepared to risk her life to save what she must most values, while Stafford's desperate search for a lost religious relic will satisfy even the most ardent mystery fans -- Deborah Harkness, author of A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES Will appeal to fans of Dan Brown and Philippa Gregory * LIBRARY JOURNAL * This fast-paced debut delivers Tudor intrigue and mystical thrills in one satisfying package - and leaves room for a sequel. * KIRKUS * Strong character development, realistic historical detail, and an atmosphere of pervasive tension coupled to a fast-placed plot make it compulsively readable. * BOOKLIST * Bilyeau deftly weaves extensive historical detail throughout, but the real draw of this suspenseful novel is its juicy blend of lust, murder, conspiracy and betrayal. * O, The Oprah Magazine * A gripping treasure-hunt-like romp through one of the bloodiest periods in British history. * GOOD HOUSEKEEPING * Fabulous debut thriller * inStyle UK * A stunning debut. One of the best historical novels I have ever read -- Alison Weir

Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Crown on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top