Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Death Watch
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Jim Kelly is the author of six novels, including The Water Clock, which was shortlisted for the CWA John Creasey Award. He was awarded the CWA Dagger in the Library in 2006 for his Philip Dryden series. Jim lives with his partner and daughter in Ely.

Reviews

British author Kelly's winning second police procedural pairing West Norfolk Det. Insp. Peter Shaw with Det. Sgt. George Valentine, Shaw's late father's former partner (after 2009's Death Wore White), neatly balances several intricate story lines. Exactly 18 years to the day after 15-year-old Norma Jean Judd vanished in 1992, her twin brother Bryan's corpse turns up in a hospital incinerator. The case is assigned to Shaw, who's unaware that his father, Det. Chief Insp. Jack Shaw, handled Norma Jean's disappearance. After breaking the devastating news to the surviving Judds, Shaw manages to save a man from a nearby burning building and ends up with another puzzle: who's "the Organ Grinder" the near-victim was so frightened of that he initially resisted rescue? On top of those mysteries, Kelly tosses in new developments in the case that ended the elder Shaw's career and led to Valentine's demotion. This clever series will appeal to fans of Peter Lovesey and Reginald Hill. (June) Copyright 2010 Reed Business Information.

First the corpse of a man whose sister disappeared 18 years earlier is found in a high-tech hospital incinerator; then a homeless shelter is torched, and more bodies whose organs have been surgically removed are found in the West Norfolk area. As detective Peter Shaw and his team investigate, he and DS George Valentine, his father's old partner, reopen a cold case that had ended his father's career and had led to Valentine's demotion. VERDICT In this second procedural featuring Shaw and Valentine (after Death Wore White), Kelly spins his yarn into a complicated cat's cradle of intersecting plot lines and converging motives that lead to a shockingly unexpected ending. Shaw and Valentine's relationship adds spice since neither man trusts the other. Fans of P.D. James and Stuart MacBride will enjoy this fine crime novel. Copyright 2010 Reed Business Information.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Death Watch (DI Peter Shaw & DS George Valentine) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top