Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Down A Dark River
By

Rating

This title will ship upon release.

This title will ship upon release.


Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Karen Odden earned her Ph.D. in English from New York University and subsequently taught literature at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. She has contributed essays to numerous books and journals, written introductions for Victorian novels in the Barnes & Noble classics series, and edited for the journal Victorian Literature and Culture (Cambridge UP). Her previous novels, also set in 1870s London, have won awards for historical fiction and mystery. A member of Mystery Writers of America and Sisters in Crime and the recipient of a grant from the Arizona Commission on the Arts, Karen lives in Arizona with her family and her rescue beagle Rosy.

Reviews

Praise for Down a Dark River:
"A harrowing tale of unbridled vice that exposes the dark underbelly of Victorian society."
-Kirkus Reviews

"[Odden] has created a page-turner that is definitely hard to put down."
-New York Journal of Books

"Impossible to put down."
-Historical Novel Society

"Superbly written . . . fast paced suspense."
-Mystery and Suspense

"A must read for mystery fans!"
-Charles Todd, New York Times bestselling author of the Inspector Rutledge mysteries

"This twisty-turn-y mystery introducing a new and charismatic detective will delight readers also looking for well-researched history."
-Susan Elia MacNeal, New York Times bestselling author of the Maggie Hope series

"Odden's latest is intricately plotted and filled with a cast of wonderful characters, including a worthy and relatable hero."
-Anna Lee Huber, USA Today bestselling author

"A spellbinding, brilliantly plotted Victorian murder mystery, Karen Odden's Down a Dark River features a fascinating and relatable detective, a cast of complex characters, powerful prose, exceptional attention to historical detail, and enough twists and turns to keep you on the edge of your seat until the last astonishing page. Highly recommended!"
-Syrie James, bestselling author of The Secret Diaries of Charlotte Bronte

"Sparkling prose, vivid description, a haunting and satisfyingly complex story . . . Down a Dark River is a must read for fans of any genre of crime fiction."
-Edwin Hill, author of The Secrets We Share

"Gritty, compelling and vividly written . . . Like Anne Perry, Odden demonstrates a commanding grasp of authentic period detail."
-Susanna Calkins, author of the Lucy Campion historical mysteries and Speakeasy Murders

"An original, street-smart detective, an intriguing mystery, and delicious Victorian flavor. All my favorite things!"
-Laura Joh Rowland, author of The Ripper's Shadow, a Victorian Mystery

"No one does Victorian England like Karen Odden . . . Fans of Anne Perry and Charles Finch will welcome Inspector Michael Corravan."
-Mariah Fredericks, author of the Jane Prescott mystery series

"This terrific Victorian mystery [is] absolute catnip for those missing the William Monk mysteries of Anne Perry."
-The Poisoned Pen Bookstore

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling Down A Dark River on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top