Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Dread Nation
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Justina Ireland is the author of the teen novels Dread Nation, Vengeance Bound, and Promise of Shadows. She enjoys dark chocolate and dark humor and is not too proud to admit that she's still afraid of the dark. She lives with her husband, kid, and dog in Pennsylvania. You can visit her online at www.justinaireland.com.

Reviews

"Ireland delivers a necessary, subversive, and explosive novel with her fantasy-laced alternate history that does the all-important work of exploring topics of oppression, racism, and slavery while simultaneously accomplishing so much more. Brilliant and gut-wrenching."--Booklist (starred review)
"Abundant action, thoughtful worldbuilding, and a brave, smart, and skillfully drawn cast entertain as Ireland (Promise of Shadows) illustrates the ignorance and immorality of racial discrimination and examines the relationship between equality and freedom. Mounting peril creates a pulse-pounding pace, hurtling readers toward a nail-biting conclusion."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)
"Will catch readers off-guard with its blend of genres: it starts out as an historical thriller but then tosses in hard hits of mystery, dystopian reimagining, romance, and humor. Jane's voice reads familiar to more contemporary considerations of Black girlhood, with elements such as beauty standards, colorism, and friendships."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (starred review)
"This absorbing page-turner works on multiple levels: as unflinching alternate history set in post-Reconstruction-era Maryland and Kansas; as a refreshingly subversive action story starring a badass heroine; as zombie fiction suspenseful; and as a compelling exhortation to scrutinize the racist underpinnings of contemporary American sociopolitical systems."--Horn Book (starred review)
"Ireland skillfully works in the different forms of enslavement, mental and physical, into a complex and engaging story. A perfect blend of horrors real and imagined, perfect for fans of The Walking Dead."--School Library Journal (starred review)
"Tremendously original, subversive, sharp, and all around badass, Dread Nation is not your mother's Civil War-era zombie story."--Julie Murphy, #1 New York Times Bestselling author of Dumplin'
"Dread Nation is everything I love--it's beautiful, unflinching, lyrical, tender, and vividly imagined. Don't miss this book!"--Ann Aguirre, New York Times bestseller and coauthor of Honor Among Thieves
"This is the zombie novel I've been waiting for my whole life."--Kate Elliott, New York Times bestselling author of Court of Fives

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Books
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Dread Nation on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top