Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Dream of Reason (European Women Writers
By

Rating
Amasterpiece of modernist fiction about one man s search for meaning, Dream of Reason (La sinrazon) reveals Rosa Chacel as an intellectual and literary innovator whose work stands alongside that of Joyce, Proust, and Woolf.This meditative novel, grounded in the thinking of Spain s great modern philosopher Ortega y Gasset, unfolds as the journal of a bourgeois chemist who makes his way in Buenos Aires just before and during the Spanish Civil War. Tracing his relationship with three women, Santiago Hernandez explores the power of his own intentions and the limits of human reason. His introspective experiment, set against the background of world-altering events, documents the workings of a self-absorbed mind speculating on the inseparability of self and circumstance and is a brilliant enactment of how, from such tensions, narrative emerges."
Product Details

About the Author

Rosa Chacel (1898-1994), one of the most promising pre-Civil War writers, was "rediscovered" in her native Spain after returning to Madrid from an exile of more than three decades. In addition to La sinrazon, her many works include Teresa, Memorias de Leticia Valle, and Barrio de Maravillas (The Maravillas District, Nebraska 1992). Carol Maier also translated Chacel's Memoirs of Leticia Valle (Nebraska 1994), for which she won the Modern Language Association's Aldo and Jeanne Scaglione Prize for a translation of a literary work, and the Eugene Kayden Translation Competition's Meritorious Achievement Award.

Reviews

http://nebraskapress.typepad.com/university_of_nebraska_pr/2009/07/translations.html|http://nebraskapress.typepad.com/university_of_nebraska_pr/2009/09/off-the-shelf-dream-of-reason-by-rosa-chacel.html|"Against a backdrop of world-shattering events, the impact of art and thought informs elegantly drawn conversations ... Chacel's masterpiece is a book where the death of a fly provides as much opportunity for self-knowledge as 'love's pure drift.'"-Publishers Weekly|"Much more than a 'novel of ideas,' this story of Santiago's eventual recognition that his command of reason avails little against the stony silence of an unresponsive God is fresh, bold, and consequential."-Jack Shreve, Library Journal|"Rosa Chacel's La sinrazon is one of the best, most original, and most daring novels of twentieth-century Spanish literature... It is time that her importance in the history of world literature be recognized."-Javier Marias, author of A Heart So White and Tomorrow in the Battle Think on Me|"Dream of Reason confirms Rosa Chacel as a major Modernist writer, the equivalent of a new-found Proust meditating on memory and selfhood, an image-driven Woolf with a profound philosophical bent. But reading Chacel is its own unforgettable experience... This is the novel we've needed to fill in a world touched gingerly, if at all, by Borges and Cortazar, yet one quintessentially Argentine, and inimitably Chacel's. She is the reader's inside outsider on the touring force of psychology, philosophy, history."-Barbara Probst Solomon, journalist and author of Arriving Where We Started |"Dream of Reason is an astounding philosophical novel in the tradition of Sartre and Proust, writers to whom Chacel does not suffer by comparison."-Andy Barnes, www.belletrista.com|http://conversationalreading.com/dream-of-reason-by-rosa-chacel

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Dream of Reason (European Women Writers (Paperback)) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top