Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

In this powerful, soul-searching memoir, beautifully written in the vein of A Pack of Two and Wild, animal behaviorist Dr. Patricia McConnell recounts for the first time the compelling story of her dark past, memories of which are triggered by a troubled dog named Will. World-renowned as a source of science and soul, Patricia McConnell combines brilliant insights into canine behavior--gained from her work with aggressive and fearful dogs--with heartwarming stories of her own dogs and their life on the farm. Now, she reveals that it wasn't just the dogs who had serious problems. For decades Dr. McConnell secretly grappled with her own guilt and fear, which were rooted in the harrowing traumas of her youth. Patricia is forced to face her past by her love for a young Border Collie named Will, whose frequent, unpredictable outbreaks of fear and fury shake Patricia to her core. In order to save Will from this dangerous behavior, she must find her own will to heal, and along the way learn that will power by itself is not enough. Interweaving enlightening stories of her clients' dogs with tales of her deepening bond with Will, Patricia recounts her fight to reclaim her life. Hopeful and inspiring, the redemptive message of her journey is that, while trauma changes our brains and the past casts a long shadow, healing, for both people and dogs, is possible through hard work, compassion, and mutual devotion.
Product Details

Reviews

"Brilliant! "For the Love of a Dog" is a perfect balance of science and soul. These stories will keep you up reading long into the night, knowing that with your dogs, you love and are loved, need and are needed."--Dr. Marty Becker, resident veterinarian on Good Morning America and co-author of Fitness Unleashed! "In this highly readable book, Patricia McConnell provides readers with a new set of techniques for communicating with and understanding their dogs. . . . This is a 'must read' for all people who share their lives with a dog."--Stanley Coren, Ph.D., author of How to Speak Dog and Why We Love the Dogs We Do "Patricia McConnell has written the "You Just Don't Understand" of the human-canine relation. . . . This humorous, well-written book tells us what to do and what to avoid based on years of studying dogs and their primate owners."--Frans de Waal, Ph.D., author of The Ape and the Sushi Master "This powerful memoir twines the lives of an extraordinary dog and an extraordinary woman. Their courageous, compelling story will profoundly deepen your understanding of people and animals, fear and shame, love and listening."--Sy Montgomery, author of THE SOUL OF AN OCTOPUS ""The Education of Will"delves deep into the minds of people and dogs, and into the effects of trauma, showing that healing is possible. McConnell gives a voice to those who can t speak in words and provides hope for fearful animals everywhere. --Temple Grandin, author of Animals Make Us Human and Animals in Translation" Praise for The Other End of the Leash "Patricia McConnell has written the You Just Don't Understand of the human-canine relationship. . . . This humorous, well-written book tells us what to do and what to avoid based on years of studying dogs and their primate owners."--Frans de Waal, Ph.D., author of Are We Smart Enough to Know How Smart Animals Are? Praise for The Other End of the Leash "Patricia McConnell has written the You Just Don't Understand of the human-canine relationship. . . . This humorous, well-written book tells us what to do and what to avoid based on years of studying dogs and their primate owners."--Frans de Waal, Ph.D., author of Are We Smart Enough to Know How Smart Animals Are? -The Education of Will delves deep into the minds of people and dogs, and into the effects of trauma, showing that healing is possible. McConnell gives a voice to those who can't speak in words and provides hope for fearful animals everywhere.---Temple Grandin, author of Animals Make Us Human and Animals in Translation "In The Education of Will, Patricia McConnell writes with unflinching honesty, vulnerability, and warmth. She wraps her reader in the highs and lows of a life lived beautifully, through gut-wrenching traumas, hard-won victories, unexpected romances, and tear-jerking setbacks. Through it all, McConnell depicts the natural world (and of course, dogs) with masterful reverence and passion. A tremendously winning memoir."--NICKOLAS BUTLER, author of Shotgun Lovesongs, Beneath the Bonfire, and The Hearts of Men "McConnell has written an inspiring and courageous book about the mysteries of the love between humans and dogs and how that love can bring healing and forgiveness after trauma. Anyone who has ever loved a pet--especially a dog--will discover new and powerful insights into how that bond can lead to liberation, even from even our most hidden and crippling shames. The Education of Will brought me to tears and laughter, amazement and admiration. McConnell has dramatically advanced the growing body of literature that explores post-traumatic stress syndrome and how our life force--and that of our beloved dogs--leads us to truth-telling and a reconnection with ourselves and society."--Nancy V. Raine, author of After Silence "An unflinching look at trauma and how one woman grows beyond it--beside a wondrous, troubled spark of a dog who needs her help and helps her know herself. Wisdom earned in the hardest places, dog and human, carries with it a message of hope. The Education of Will is riveting from the first page to the last and will reach many readers who long to put all kinds of burdens down."--Susannah Charleson, author of Scent of the Missing and The Possibility Dogs "The Education of Will delves deep into the minds of people and dogs, and into the effects of trauma, showing that healing is possible. McConnell gives a voice to those who can't speak in words and provides hope for fearful animals everywhere."--Temple Grandin, author of Animals Make Us Human and Animals in Translation "Patricia McConnell may be the finest popularizer of the science of animal behavior we have today, and for many dog owners, myself included, she's long been a wise and witty guiding light. With The Education of Will, her intensely personal and frankly brave memoir, she examines her own traumatic history with characteristic insight, honesty, and intellectual tenacity. The result is a fascinating portrait of the deepest of connections being forged between one woman and one dog -- and just how high the stakes are for both. Patricia McConnell is a treasure, and we're very lucky indeed that she wrote this story."--David Wroblewski, author of THE STORY OF EDGAR SAWTELLE "This inspirational memoir is, above all, a book about redemption. McConnell faces her own history of trauma as she tries to understand and heal her fearful, reactive border collie, Willie. Replete with McConnell's fascinating and often humorous insights about working with wonderful and sometimes wounded dogs, this is much more than a book about training dogs. The Education of Will engages in an intimate and challenging conversation with the reader: about saving yourself, saving others, and allowing others to save you. It is original, powerful, heartwrenching in its honesty -- and filled with a comforting, gentle grace."--Cat Warren, author of What the Dog Knows "The Education of Willdelves deep into the minds of people and dogs, and into the effects of trauma, showing that healing is possible. McConnell gives a voice to those who can t speak in words and provides hope for fearful animals everywhere. --Temple Grandin, author of Animals Make Us Human and Animals in Translation" "This inspirational memoiris, above all, a book about redemption. McConnell faces her own history of trauma as she tries to understand and heal her fearful, reactive border collie, Willie.Replete with McConnell s fascinating and often humorous insights about working with wonderful and sometimes wounded dogs, thisis much more than a bookabout training dogs. The Education of Willengages in an intimate and challenging conversation with the reader: about saving yourself, saving others, and allowing others to save you. It is original, powerful, heartwrenching in its honesty and filled with a comforting, gentle grace."--Cat Warren, author of What the Dog Knows" Praise for "The Other End of the Leash" "Patricia McConnell has written the "You Just Don't Understand" of the human-canine relationship. . . . This humorous, well-written book tells us what to do and what to avoid based on years of studying dogs and their primate owners."--Frans de Waal, Ph.D., author of Are We Smart Enough to Know How Smart Animals Are? Praise for "The Other End of the Leash" "Patricia McConnell has written the "You Just Don't Understand" of the human-canine relation. . . . This humorous, well-written book tells us what to do and what to avoid based on years of studying dogs and their primate owners."--Frans de Waal, Ph.D., author of Are We Smart Enough to Know How Smart Animals Are? Praise for "The Other End of the Leash" "Quite simply the best book I have ever seen about training: humane, compassionate, intelligent, and startlingly new!"--Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson, Ph.D., author of Dogs Never Lie About Love Praise for "For the Love of a Dog" "A step-by-step guide on how to interpret how your dog feels by reading his facial expressions and body posture. A marvelous book that everybody who loves dogs should own."--Temple Grandin, author of Animals in Translation

Look for similar items by category
Home » Books » Biography » Women
Home » Books » Home & Garden » Pets » Dogs » Training
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Education of Will: A Mutual Memoir of a Woman and Her Dog on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top