COVID-19 Response at Fishpond.com.au

Read what we're doing...

Eight Perfect Murders
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Peter Swanson is the author of seven novels, including The Kind Worth Killing, winner of the New England Society Book Award, and finalist for the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger; Her Every Fear, an NPR book of the year; Before She Knew Him, and Eight Perfect Murders. His books have been translated into 30 languages, and his stories, poetry, and features have appeared in Asimov's Science Fiction, The Atlantic Monthly, Measure, The Guardian, The Strand Magazine, and Yankee Magazine. He lives outside of Boston, where he is at work on his next novel.

Reviews

"A must-read... A shocking, addictive mystery with a classic crime twist... Swanson is a master... If you're as obsessed with crime fiction as I am, Peter Swanson's newest is a book you simply cannot miss." --CrimeByTheBook
"Eight Perfect Murders creates expectations it then subverts, presents suspects only to eliminate them, and in general has its own way with the tropes of the mystery thriller--including that genre mainstay, the unreliable narrator."--Wall Street Journal
"A devious whodunit"--New York Times Book Review
"Engagingly original... This [is a] multilayered mystery that brims with duplicity, betrayal and revenge - all bubbling slowly to the surface... Swanson has a bent for revenge and murder. Fans won't be disappointed."--USA Today
"Probably what you need right now is a good murder mystery. One that is bookish, engrossing, not overly gory and impossible to solve. Peter Swanson delivers all of this in Eight Perfect Murders... Swanson drops in lovely clues, but good luck figuring it out.--Minneapolis Star-Tribune
"Readers who enjoy thrillers chock-full of twists and turns will adore Peter Swanson's meta-mystery Eight Perfect Murders... This superbly plotted novel, thrilling, fast-paced and psychologically complex, makes the perfect book club choice for fans of Anthony Horowitz's Magpie Murders and A.J. Finn's The Woman in the Window."--Shelf Awareness (starred review)
"Eight Perfect Murders is an ever-unfolding puzzle... Mal frequently confides in the reader, showing that he knows more than he is letting the FBI believe. But what exactly does Mal know, and what might he be guilty of? These questions will plague readers and follow them throughout the book."--San Francisco Chronicle
"Eight Perfect Murders is pretty much perfect itself. There are plenty of twists and turns, and secrets galore... We owe Swanson a debt of gratitude... You also owe it to yourself to read Eight Perfect Murders."--BookReporter.com
"An homage to classic mystery stories that offers both the charms of a puzzle mystery and the bleak atmosphere of a noir... The flawed main characters are well developed, the New England settings are vividly drawn, and the twists keep coming in this suspenseful, ingeniously plotted tale."--St. Louis Post Dispatch
"Intelligent, twisty, stylish, startling... No matter how well you know someone, you can never fully know what's in their heart and mind. Eight Perfect Murders proves the point. Which is what makes it perfectly creepy."--New York Journal of Books
"The meta thriller fans of the genre have been waiting for."--Popsugar
"Fiendishly clever catnip for any lover of classic crime fiction."--Seattle Times
"The wintry setting and eerily cool narration, together with trust-no-one twists and garish murders, will satisfy thriller readers; fans of classic mysteries by Agatha Christie, Ira Levin, and John D. MacDonald will enjoy... You'll stay to the finish of this one."--Library Journal
"[An] outstanding fair-play crime novel... Swanson will keep most readers guessing until the end. Classic whodunit fans will be in heaven."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)
"The pleasures of following, and trying to anticipate, a narrator who's constantly second- and third-guessing himself and everyone around him are authentic and intense... You wish the mounting complications, like a magician's showiest routine, could go on forever."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
"A devilish premise combined with jaw-dropping execution... Mystery fans will be salivating as the plot unfolds, trying to outsmart the confoundingly unreliable narrative... Swanson hits every note in this homage to the old-school crime novel, and the turnabout ending will leave readers reeling in delight."--Booklist (starred review)
&#8220Clever and surprising... Swanson rips us from one startling plot twist to the next. A marriage that may not be what it seems [and] friends who may not be what they seem... With mounting tension and fraying nerves, it careens to the final stunning conclusion. A true tour de force."--Lisa Gardner
"[A] neatly knotted suspense story."--New York Times Book Review on Before She Knew Him
"[Swanson] knows how to ration his twists and where in the narrative to place them, devoting just the right amount of time to exploring the ramifications of each new development before spinning the story off in an ominous new direction... De Palma, or Hitchcock...would kill for the film rights."--The National (UK) on Before She Knew Him
"A wicked thriller that does not disappoint... Another gem that pulls the reader in and never lets go, even as the story comes to a close. This is a book that will keep you up at night and haunt your thoughts. A fun, chilling read."--Manhattan Book Review on Before She Knew Him
"Complex [and] intriguing... [Swanson] makes sure to place those twists and turns perfectly... And when someone else turns up dead, the story goes from 0-to-60 in a split-second. Peter Swanson has done a fantastic job."--Suspense Magazine on All the Beautiful Lies
"In trademark style, Swanson's ingenious plotting throws up tantalising clues and then slowly unravels them through a series of shocking revelations, leaving readers confused, bemused and racing to the last page. Compelling, creepy, and psychologically astute, this is stylish thriller writing at its very best."--The Guardian (UK) on Before She Knew Him
"In Peter Swanson's expert hands, one woman's discerning observation at a quiet suburban dinner party unfolds into a gripping, twisty, psychologically complex thriller. I could not put it down."--Alafair Burke, New York Times bestselling author of The Wife on Before She Knew Him
"Mr. Swanson unfolds this creepy story with the assurance and economy of a master. Surprises follow one another with inevitability, until the final electrifying jolt."--Wall Street Journal on Before She Knew Him
"Plenty of suspense and surprises... This intense and sinister thriller builds to a shocking conclusion as the bizarre relationship between a woman and her killer neighbor plays out."--ShelfAwareness.com on Before She Knew Him
"Suspense lovers will devour this deliciously duplicitous read, which is chock-full of twists, turns, lust, greed, and dishonesty."--Library Journal on All the Beautiful Lies
"Swanson has drawn on Alfred Hitchcock to good effect. In All the Beautiful Lies, he looks instead to du Maurier... The reader is soon gripped and wondering which will come first: Harry's seduction or his death? Swanson's magpie borrowings are always finessed into something fresh and piquant.--The Guardian

"Swanson's fourth psychological thriller is a gripping exploration of delusion and deceit; sure to please readers of Laura Lippman's stand-alones."-- Booklist on All the Beautiful Lies
"The skillfully conjured Boston winter creates the perfect atmosphere for breeding paranoia, which kicks into high gear with the introduction of Cherney's Rear Window-like flashbacks. Swanson ... introduces a delicious monster-under-the-bed creepiness to the expected top-notch characterization and steadily mounting anxiety."--Booklist (starred review) on Her Every Fear
"This devilishly clever noir thriller could have been called "Strangers on a Plane." ... It would have made a great Hitchcock movie.... Unlike most books that fail to live up to the hype, this one makes good on the promise, right down to the chilling final paragraph."--Fort Worth Star-Telegram on The Kind Worth Killing

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling Eight Perfect Murders on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top