Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Join Emily Sparkes for laugh-out-loud observations about life, parents and how to handle the grossest boys in the universe! Perfect for fans of Cathy Cassidy and Dork Diaries. The first Emily book has been shortlisted for the Scholastic Laugh Out Loud Book Award (The Lollies).'Lots of fun and a really cool read!' - Cathy CassidyEmily Sparkes might have found herself a new best friend and avoided humiliation at the hands of the grossest boy in the universe, but now her creativityness has landed her in a whole new world of trouble . . .Emily has absolutely accidentally entered her mother into a competition to find the nation's Mum in a Million. So when Mrs Sparkes is shortlisted, Emily is more shocked than anyone! Desperate not to be publicly humiliated on TV, she has to come up with a plan for a mum makeover. Because her eco-warrior, allotment-loving, generally horrendously embarrassing parent can't make her star appearance in a granddad-cap and wellies - can she?Oh. And Chloe Clarke comes back. Need we say more?
Product Details

About the Author

Ruth Fitzgerald grew up in South Wales but has lived most of her life in Suffolk. She wrote her first story at the age of six and immediately announced she wanted to be a writer. Her teacher immediately told her that being a writer was a hobby and she needed to get a proper job. Ruth tried twenty-three proper jobs before deciding her teacher was wrong. She lives near Ipswich with her family, a tiny dog and five chickens.Find out more about Ruth and her Emily Sparkes series at www.ruthfitzgerald.com

Reviews

Emily Sparkes is my new favourite character. She made me laugh a lot! * Piper, aged 11 * Emily Sparkes is amazingly funny. I thought it was hilarious when Emily named her new baby sister Yoda! * Maddie, aged 12 * I thought this was side-splittingly funny and very realistic. Emily Sparkes is someone I'd want to be friends with! * Sterrett, aged 10 * Once you start reading this book you won't be able to put it down. It's true to life and very funny. Emily Sparkes is everyone's dream best friend! * Alice, aged 12 * With cool illustrations and doodles, this is a fun read * The Best New Children's Books 2015 * More satisfying than much junior chick-lit * The Observer * Lots to appeal to fans of Cathy Cassidy and Dork Diaries in this funny new series * The Bookseller * I laughed and laughed at Emily Sparkes and the Friendship Fiasco! She's like a younger Georgia Nicolson. * Susie Day, author of Pea's Book of Best Friends (Pea's Book series) * Utterly hilarious and utterly relatable, Ruth Fitzgerald just gets all of the awful problems associated with being eleven years old. Everything in Emily Sparkes's life is a crisis, and each crisis is funnier than the last. Bring on the next book! * Robin Stevens, author of Murder Most Unladylike (Wells and Wong Mysteries) * I have read the first Emily Sparkes book and really LOVE it . . . it's lots of fun and a really cool read! * Cathy Cassidy, bestselling author of The Chocolate Box Girls series *

Look for similar items by category
Home » Books » Children's » Fiction » School
Home » Books » Children's » Fiction » Family » General
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Emily Sparkes and the Competition Calamity: Book 2 (Emily Sparkes) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top