COVID-19 Response at Fishpond.com.au

Read what we're doing...

The End of Your Life Book Club
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

The inspiring story of a son and his dying mother, who form a 'book club' that brings them together as her life comes to a close. For fans of Tuesdays With Morrie and The Last Lecture.

About the Author

Will Schwalbe has worked in publishing 'most recently as senior vice president and editor in chief of Hyperion Books'; digital media, as the founder and CEO of Cookstr.com; and as a journalist, writing for various publications including The New York Times and the South China Morning Post. He is on the boards of Yale University Press and the Kingsborough Community College Foundation. Find out more about THE END OF YOUR LIFE BOOK CLUB on www.theendofyourlifebookclub.comFollow Will on Twitter at @willsch, at facebook.com/will.schwalbe and on Pinterest at pinterest.com/willschwalbe/

Reviews

'I was so moved by this marvellous book. Schwalbe has done something extraordinary: made a personal journey public in the most engaging, funny and revealing way possible. It is a true meditation on what books can do.' - Edmund de Waal, author of The Hare with Amber Eyes'Will Schwalbe gives us two love stories in one: That of his relationship with his dynamo of a mother as her horizons shrink, and that of their mutual devotion to the printed word, infinitely and insistently engaging. Tender and touching and beautifully done.' - Stacy Schiff, Pulitzer Prize winning author of Cleopatra'A perfect book-club book about books and the community they create that also portrays the love between mother and son.' - Library Journal'Will Schwalbe's brave and soulful elegy to his remarkable mother, his recollection of their sparklingly literate conversations, is a timely reminder that one exceptional person, or one exceptional book, can be a torch in the darkness. You'll turn the last page wishing you'd met Mary Anne Schwalbe, vowing to be worthy of her incandescent example - and promising yourself to read more.' - J. R. Moehringer, author of The Tender Bar'A wonderful book about wonderful books and mothers and sons and the enduring braid between them. Like the printed volumes it celebrates, this story will stay with you long after the last page.' - Mitch Albom, author of Tuesdays With Morrie and The Time Keeper'This touching and insightful memoir about the slow process of dying will appeal to readers of Tuesdays With Morrie and The Last Lecture, but also to people who love delving into books and book discussions. Like Mary Anne, who reads the ending first, you know how this book is going to end, but while it is a story about death, it is mostly a celebration of life and of the way books can enrich it.' - Booklist (starred review)'a moving and inspiring story' - Choice Magazine'Literature bridges generations in Will Schwalbe's thoughtful tribute to his late mother' - Vogue.com

Schwalbe creates a moving memoir with three main purposes: to provide a tribute to his mother, Mary Anne Schwalbe, a crusader and humanitarian; to document a personal family journey of living with cancer; and to compose a paean to the importance and impact of books and reading. As his mother begins her treatments for stage-four pancreatic cancer, she and Schwalbe start a book club that initiates a series of highly personal reflections and conversations on their family and current events. But their story is hardly morbid as they trade books and wisdom and, perhaps most significantly, present one of the most compelling arguments for the joy of reading: the power of the written word to inspire, instruct, comfort, and unite. This story, which listeners will want to keep and pass on, is well narrated by Jeff Harding. VERDICT This celebration of the art of reading is highly recommended for all listeners and libraries. ["This book will bring tears to readers' eyes-it is an essential title for lovers of memoir," read the review of the Knopf hc, LJ 9/1/12.-Ed.]-Joyce Kessel, Villa Maria Coll., Buffalo (c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The End of Your Life Book Club on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond Retail Limited.
Back to top