Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

The End of Your Life Book Club
By

Rating
New or Used: 7 copies from $13.20
New or Used: 7 copies from $13.20

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

The inspiring story of a son and his dying mother, who form a 'book club' that brings them together as her life comes to a close. For fans of Tuesdays With Morrie and The Last Lecture.

About the Author

Will Schwalbe has worked in publishing for many years. He is the author of the international bestseller, The End of Your Life Book Club and the critically-acclaimed Books for Living, and co-author (with David Shipley) of Send: Why People Email So Badly and How to Do It Better. He has also worked in digital media, and was the founder of Cookstr.com. As a journalist he wrote for the New York Times and the South China Morning Post. He lives in New York City. @willsch facebook / instagram / pinterest > will.schwalbe

Reviews

Will Schwalbe gives us two love stories in one: That of his relationship with his dynamo of a mother as her horizons shrink, and that of their mutual devotion to the printed word, infinitely and insistently engaging. Tender and touching and beautifully done. * Stacy Schiff, Pulitzer Prize winning author of Cleopatra *
I was so moved by this marvellous book. Schwalbe has done something extraordinary: made a personal journey public in the most engaging, funny and revealing way possible. It is a true meditation on what books can do. * Edmund de Waal, author of The Hare with Amber Eyes *
A perfect book-club book about books and the community they create that also portrays the love between mother and son. * Library Journal *
Will Schwalbe's brave and soulful elegy to his remarkable mother, his recollection of their sparklingly literate conversations, is a timely reminder that one exceptional person, or one exceptional book, can be a torch in the darkness. You'll turn the last page wishing you'd met Mary Anne Schwalbe, vowing to be worthy of her incandescent example - and promising yourself to read more. * J. R. Moehringer, author of The Tender Bar *
At last a book that celebrates the role books play within our own story. Will Schwalbe has created a tender, moving and honest portrayal of the precious relationship between a mother and son - an ode to that beautiful thing called love. * Cecilia Ahern, author of PS, I Love You *
A wonderful book about wonderful books and mothers and sons and the enduring braid between them. Like the printed volumes it celebrates, this story will stay with you long after the last page. * Mitch Albom, author of Tuesdays With Morrie and The Time Keeper *
an astonishing, pertinent, and wonderfully welcome work. * Publishers Weekly starred review *
An extraordinarily wise, witty, and quietly wrenching book about parental love, filial love, profound grief, and literature's great consolations. How wonderful to encounter a writer who combines erudition with great emotional honesty, and who isn't afraid of addressing life's most profound and baffling questions. * Douglas Kennedy, author of Leaving the World and The Pursuit of Happiness *
a moving and inspiring story * Choice Magazine *
This touching and insightful memoir about the slow process of dying will appeal to readers of Tuesdays With Morrie and The Last Lecture, but also to people who love delving into books and book discussions. Like Mary Anne, who reads the ending first, you know how this book is going to end, but while it is a story about death, it is mostly a celebration of life and of the way books can enrich it. * Booklist (starred review) *
What self-respecting reader isn't a sucker for a great book about other great books? The End of Your Life Book Club is that much and more. * BookPage *
a graceful, affecting testament to a mother and a life well lived. * Entertainment Weekly *
Literature bridges generations in Will Schwalbe's thoughtful tribute to his late mother * Vogue.com *
a tribute to a remarkable woman and an exemplary reader. * Salon *
A truly poignant read . . . a moving tribute to a wonderful-sounding mum and the power of fiction. * Good Housekeeping *
It helps of course if you are a book lover and can relate to the passion for reading, but even prolific readers will find that the book teaches them not only about life and death but about the power of a really good book to move you and peel off the onion skin layers of "what you already know" and reveal truths. * Curious Book Fans *
a life-enhancing celebration of the power of books and reading, very much in the vein of Tuesdays with Morrie * Independent *

Schwalbe creates a moving memoir with three main purposes: to provide a tribute to his mother, Mary Anne Schwalbe, a crusader and humanitarian; to document a personal family journey of living with cancer; and to compose a paean to the importance and impact of books and reading. As his mother begins her treatments for stage-four pancreatic cancer, she and Schwalbe start a book club that initiates a series of highly personal reflections and conversations on their family and current events. But their story is hardly morbid as they trade books and wisdom and, perhaps most significantly, present one of the most compelling arguments for the joy of reading: the power of the written word to inspire, instruct, comfort, and unite. This story, which listeners will want to keep and pass on, is well narrated by Jeff Harding. VERDICT This celebration of the art of reading is highly recommended for all listeners and libraries. ["This book will bring tears to readers' eyes-it is an essential title for lovers of memoir," read the review of the Knopf hc, LJ 9/1/12.-Ed.]-Joyce Kessel, Villa Maria Coll., Buffalo (c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The End of Your Life Book Club on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top