COVID-19 Response at Fishpond.com.au

Read what we're doing...

Enough
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Juan Williams is a senior correspondent for NPR(R). He is also a political analyst for the Fox News Channel and a panelist on Fox News Sunday. He is the author of Thurgood Marshall: American Revolutionary and Eyes on the Prize: America's Civil Rights Years, 1954-1965, among other books. During his twenty-one year career at The Washington Post, Williams served as an editorial writer, op-ed columnist, and White House correspondent. He lives in Washington, D.C.

Reviews

When Bill Cosby addressed a 50th-anniversary celebration of Brown v. Board of Education, he created a major controversy with seemingly inoffensive counsel ("begin with getting a high school education, not having children until one is twenty-one and married, working hard at any job, and being good parents"). Building from Cosby's speech, NPR/Fox journalist Williams offers his ballast to Cosby's position. Williams starts with the question, "Why are so many black Americans, people born inside the gates of American opportunity, still living as if they were locked out from all America has to offer?" His answers include the debacle of big-city politics under self-serving black politicians; reparations as "a divisive dead-end idea"; the parlous state of city schools "under the alliance between the civil rights leaders and the teachers' unions"; and the transformation of rap from "its willingness to confront establishment and stereotypes" to "America's late-night masturbatory fantasy." A sense of the erosion of "the high moral standing of civil rights" underlies Cosby's anguish and Williams's anger. Politically interested readers of a mildly conservative bent will find this book sheer dynamite. (Aug.) Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.

Heard on Fox News and NPR, Williams raises his voice to insist that African Americans must continue combatting racism while returning to traditional values that have helped them in the darkest times. Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.

Advance Praise for Enough

"Written in the tradition of DuBois and King, Enough is an impressively powerful and courageous book. Williams delivers a blunt and bracing challenge to black America." --David J. Garrow, author of the Pulitzer Prize-winning Bearing the Cross and Senior Fellow at Cambridge University "A courageous and much-needed primer on race relations in America today." --Thomas Sowell, author of Black Rednecks and White Liberals and Senior Fellow at the Hoover Institution "Enough is a breath of fresh air and a long overdue, critical insight into today's stereotypical nonsense that has unfortunately been passing as the new black culture." --Donna Brazile, political commentator for CNN and former campaign manager for Al Gore in 2000 "Juan Williams has, through Bill Cosby, spoken for the quiet majority of African Americans who desperately look for some voice to articulate what they know is truth. . . . I highly recommend Enough to those who are really interested in knowing our nation's history, and specifically the odyssey of African Americans in this country." --Douglas Wilder, mayor of Richmond, Virginia, and former governor of Virginia "Juan Williams isn't afraid to give Cosby his props, showing us that a lot of what people call black conservatism is plain common sense." --John McWhorter, author of Winning the Race: Beyond the Crisis in Black America

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling Enough: The Phony Leaders, Dead-End Movements, and Culture of Failure That Are Undermining Black America--And What We Can Do about It on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top