How does Fishpond Work?

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The first book in Anna Carey's chilling Eve trilogy, Eve is perfect for fans of The Handmaiden's Tale. After a deadly virus wiped out most of Earth's population, the world is a terrifying place. Eighteen-year-old Eve has grown up isolated from the rest of the destroyed world in an all-girls school. But it isn't until the night before her graduation that she discovers what her duties will be once she graduates. To avoid the horrifying fate that awaits her, Eve flees the only home she's ever known. On the run, she encounters Caleb, a rough, rebellious boy living in the wild. Eve knows she shouldn't trust him, but he slowly wins her confidence...and her heart. He promises to protect her, but when soldiers begin hunting them, Eve must choose between true love and her life. Eve is the first book in Anna Carey's trilogy, full of romance, adventure, sacrifice, all set in a near future that is both wonderfully strange, and chillingly familiar.
Product Details

About the Author

Anna Carey graduated from New York University and has an MFA in fiction from Brooklyn College. She lives in Los Angeles.

Reviews

"A gripping, unforgettable adventure-and a fresh look at what it means to love." -- Lauren Kate, New York Times bestselling author of FALLEN

Gr 9 Up-Eve is orphaned by a devastating plague that killed 98 percent of the population. Twelve years later she is set to graduate from an all-girls orphanage, where the students have been promised bright futures in the careers of their choice. However, the day before graduation Eve discovers that they are actually going to be bound to beds, impregnated against their will, and forced endlessly to bear children in order to repopulate the country. This discovery is horrific indeed, or at least it would be if it made any sense. The plot and characters are undermined by huge logical holes in the dystopian world-building. The girls are taught to hate men through reinterpretations of classic literature, but why bother educating them at all when they are going to spend their lives as prisoners? When Eve (unsurprisingly) escapes, more discrepancies emerge. "The New America" is now ruled by a king who has a large army and runs the schools for orphan girls as well as work camps for orphan boys. But if depleted population is the problem, why are the orphan boys being mistreated and killed? Why separate the genders at all? When Eve and her former frenemy from the orphanage end up in a camp of feral boys and meet the muscular yet gentle Caleb, a predictable romance ensues. Carey's clever writing and imaginative storytelling have potential but ultimately cannot save this flawed novel.-Eliza Langhans, Hatfield Public Library, MA (c) Copyright 2012. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Eve (Eve Trilogy) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top