Download the Free Fishpond App!
Download on the App Store

Android App on Google play

Already own it?

Sell Yours
Home » Books » Nonfiction » Technology » Aeronautics & Astronautics

Faith 7: L. Gordon Cooper, Jr., and the Final Mercury Mission

2016 (Springer-Praxis Books)

By Colin Burgess

Elsewhere $69.75 $49.97   Save $19.78 (28%)
Free shipping Australia wide
Ships from UK
Order Now for Christmas with e-Gift
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Format: Paperback, 291 pages, 2016 Edition
Published In: Switzerland, 01 July 2016
This book celebrates the final spaceflight in the Mercury series, flown by NASA astronaut Gordon Cooper, who led an adventurous life in the cockpit of airplanes and spacecraft alike, and on his Mercury mission he became the last American ever to rocket into space alone. He flew in the Mercury and Gemini programs and served as head of flight crew operations in both the Apollo and Skylab programs. Based on extensive research and first-person interviews, this is a complete history of the Faith 7 flight and its astronaut. Cooper later gained notoriety following the release of the movie, The Right Stuff, in which he was depicted by Dennis Quaid, but Burgess discovers there was even more drama to his story. It completes the "Pioneers in Early Spaceflight" subseries in fitting fashion.

Table of Contents

Foreword by Alfred Worden (CMP Apollo 15).- Acknowledgements.- Author Prologue.- Chapter 1: An astronaut from Oklahoma.- Chapter 2: The final Mercury mission.- Chapter 3: One reckless act.- Chapter 4: A day in space with Faith 7.- Chapter 5: "A victory for the human spirit".- Chapter 6: The end of the Mercury era.- Chapter 7: From Gemini to Apollo.- Chapter 8: "The greatest pilot you ever saw".- Appendices.- Index.

About the Author

Colin Burgess's first book, "The Diggers of Colditz" was published simultaneously in the U.K. and Australia in 1985. His next few books were on the Australian prisoner-of -war experience and then he turned his efforts to writing about his principal interest: human space exploration. Colin has written a number of books on the subject for the University of Nebraska Press and Springer-Praxis. The books he has written or co-authored for Springer-Praxis are "NASA's Scientist-Astronauts," "Animals in Space," "The First Soviet Cosmonaut Team," "Selecting the Mercury Seven," "Moon Bound," "Freedom 7," "Liberty Bell 7," "Friendship 7," "Aurora 7," and "Sigma 7". Colin also wrote "Interkosmos" (2016) with co-author Bert Vis, and a history of NASA's Group 5 and 7 astronauts with co-author David J. Shayler. In addition, he is the series editor and sometimes author for the Outward Odyssey series of books on the social history of space exploration for the University of Nebraska Press.


"It is a reliable chronicle of Gordon Cooper's 34-hour, 22-orbit mission in May 1963, which stretched the endurance of the cramped Mercury capsule almost as far as it could go. ... I can recommend this book as a reliable reference work and a readable narrative." (Michael J. Neufeld, Quest, Vol. 24 (1), 2017)

EAN: 9783319305622
ISBN: 331930562X
Publisher: Praxis Publications Inc
Dimensions: 24.41 x 16.89 x 1.68 centimetres (0.59 kg)
Age Range: 15+ years
Tell a friend

Their Email:

Sell Yours

Already own this item?
Sell Yours and earn some cash. It's fast and free to list! (Learn More.)

Review this Product


Related Searches


Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners

You can earn a 5% commission by selling Faith 7: L. Gordon Cooper, Jr., and the Final Mercury Mission: 2016 (Springer-Praxis Books) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep!



Are you the Author/Publisher? Improve sales by submitting additional information on this title.


This item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.