Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range



Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Cecilia Dart-Thornton is the author of numerous bestselling fantasy novels, notably the Bitterbynde Trilogy and the Crowthistle Chronicles. The Washington Post reported that the first summer after Neilsen Booktrack launched in Australia, it showed Dart-Thornton's newly launched fantasy tome The Ill-Made Mute hitting the Herald's best-seller list, ranked next to mainstream authors and 'serious' fiction. Technology, in one swift blow, destroyed a decades-long publishers' bias against fantasy. It demonstrated that what people were really buying was simply not reflected in the old bestseller lists, based as they were on reports from a small panel of bookshops. The reality was, people were buying fantasy - in particular, they were buying The Ill-Made Mute. This debut novel and its two sequels in the 'Bitterbynde Trilogy' went on to win fans and accolades across the globe. Dart-Thornton's books have been listed on Amazon's Best, Locus Magazine's Best First Novels, the Sydney Morning Herald's Top Twenty and the Australian Publishers' Association 'Australia's Favourite Read'. They are published in five languages and distributed in more than fifty countries around the world.


Stunning conclusion to a great series!
Dart-Thornton's Crowthistle Chronicles charts three great love stories in three generations. Lilith and Jarred share the most poignant love (in THE IRON TREE), Jewel and Arran have the most epic pairing (beginning in THE WELL OF TEARS, and hovering in the background of WEATHERWITCH), and in this concluding novel, FALLOWBLADE, Asrathiel becomes caught up in the most surprising, tempestuous, and mythic romance of the series. Is she flirting with evil or has she found her immortal beloved?

Dart-Thornton's writing is mellifluous, but sharp and honed as the blade of the novel's enchanted sword, when it needs to be. Her skill in magical world-creation is just as powerfully displayed in this series as it was in the Bitterbynde trilogy. Perhaps I felt even more enchanted by this series and experienced even more of the celebrated longing for the world of faerie. I admire the author's research and her careful documentation of her sources for certain incidents, faerie language, and some of the novel's themes. This makes fascinating reading, especially for anyone contemplating writing fantasy, and it lays bare her process in a helpful way that doesn't diminish any of this author's gramarye.

L. Gott

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Fallowblade: The Crowthistle Chronicles Book #4 (Crowthistle Chronicles) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond Retail Limited.
Back to top