Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Sell Your Old Stuff for Cash. It's Easy & Free to List. Get Started Now.

Finn, M: Shame
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

For fans of A LITTLE LIFE and J.M. Coetzee, a devastatingly powerful novel about coming to terms with your past, from Orange-longlisted and Not the Booker-shortlisted Melanie Finn.

About the Author

Melanie Finn was born and raised in Kenya. She has worked as a screenwriter and a journalist, and is the founder and co-director of the Natron Healthcare Project, which helps rural Masai communities. Her first novel, AWAY FROM YOU, was published to great critical acclaim in 2004, and was longlisted for the Orange and IMPAC Prizes. Her second novel, SHAME, has been shortlisted for the GUARDIAN'S NOT THE BOOKER Prize.

Reviews

Intense, impressive... Told with force, and bracing directness... It's a book that smashes into you. - GuardianArresting - Finn conjures up Africa perfectly.A brilliantly written account of a soul in torment and the way she is pursued by her own fate. Finn evokes the darkness and light of Africa with the same sureness that she calls forth the brightness and shadow of the human heart.I rarely get as invested in the outcome of a novel as I did reading Shame . . . These characters could be usSo powerful, brutal and haunting. There are scenes that will just stay in the memory, the birth scene in particular was just incredible. Absolutely brilliant'Shame, a second novel by Melanie Finn, deserved more recognition than it received. Her Africa is one I recognise, neither sentimental nor sensationalised. Finn has a light, deft touch as a writer, but the images she conjures up are so subversively creepy they haunt you for days' - Spectator Best Books of the Year

This item has low availability through normal channels. The supplier has a low reliability rating in Fishpond's system and may not arrive on time. Learn more.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Finn, M: Shame on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top