Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Fox and I
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Catherine Raven received her Ph.D. in biology from Montana State University and is a former National Park Ranger at Glacier, Mount Rainier, North Cascades and Yellowstone National Parks. Her natural history essays have appeared in American Scientist and Montana Magazine. A member of American Mensa and Sigma Xi, she is currently a Professor at South University in Savannah, Georgia.

Reviews

A tender, shrewd exploration of the redemption that comes when we start to know that we, whoever and wherever we are, are wild things, crucially defined by our relationship with the wild. * Charles Foster, author of Being a Beast and Being a Human *
A wise and intimate book about a solitary woman, a biologist by training, who befriends a fox. More than that, it's the tale of a human mind trained to be logical being touched by nature and coming to realize a greater truth. If Thoreau had read The Little Prince, he would have written Fox and I. -- Yann Martel, bestselling author of Life of Pi
A smart and tender memoir of an unexpected bond between a biologist and a fox... Fox & I crisply upends the hierarchy that places humans at the top of a pyramid. -- Katherine E. Standefer * New York Times *
Intimate and poetic . . . . By paying ecstatic attention to grasses, insects, birds, and animals, Catherine Raven allows us to hear what nature is saying to us. Fox and I is essential reading for anyone concerned about the catastrophe human beings are inflicting on the environment from which they and all other creatures sprang. -- Stephen Batchelor, author of The Art of Solitude
This tale of wilderness, in the tradition of Thoreau and Steinbeck, is distinguished by a narrator who sees herself as one of the many creatures she lives among . . . . Catherine Raven has achieved something unique in the literature of nature-writing: genuine love for the wild within the rigor of scientific observation. The voice of this storyteller is startlingly original. I read it breathlessly. -- Andrei Codrescu
The observations of high-desert nature -- of wildlife, plants, landscapes, weather -- in this book are some of the best you will ever read. The story of Catherine Raven's and the fox's friendship charmed me and drew me in completely. -- Ian Frazier, author of Great Plains
Fox and I is a mesmerizing, beautifully written, and entirely unsentimental book about the connection amongst all things: the author and her fox friend, but also magpies, brown dogs, fawns, voles, and junipers. Catherine Raven helped me reorient myself in the universe; she encourages readers to stop, listen, and look at the landscapes around us without putting ourselves in the center of them. I learned as much about the meaning of friendship from this book as I have from any work of nonfiction that I've ever read. -- Will Schwalbe, New York Times bestselling author of The End of Your Life Book Club and Books for Living

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Books » Science » Nature » Animals
Home » Books » Science » Nature » Mammals
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling Fox and I: An Uncommon Friendship on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top