SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Galileo's Error
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

An important manifesto for a new science of consciousness, for readers of Daniel Dennett and David Chalmers

About the Author

Philip Goff is a philosopher of mind who teaches at Durham University. He has more than 40 academic publications and is the author of Consciousness and Fundamental Reality. Goff has published numerous articles in newspapers and magazines, such as The Guardian and the Times Literary Supplement, and has guest edited an edition of Philosophy Now magazine. He lives in Durham, England.

www.philipgoffphilosophy.com
www.conscienceandconsciousness.com
Twitter- @Philip_Goff

Reviews

"This is one of the clearest accounts I've ever read about the mystery of consciousness, and the way in which one theory about it, panpsychism, does a great deal to explain how it occurs and what it is. Why shouldn't consciousness be a normal property of matter, like mass or electrical charge? This idea has the glorious simplicity of our first realisation that the earth goes around the sun, and not vice versa. Suddenly the universe appears in a new and much more revealing perspective. Philip Goff's book is altogether a splendid introduction to this fascinating idea."
"In Galileo's Error, Philip Goff argues for a new approach to the scientific study of consciousness. He offers an accessible and compelling analysis of why our felt experience continues to elude scientific explanation and why the theories that describe consciousness as a fundamental feature of matter have been neglected-and why they now deserve serious consideration. This is a must-read for anyone interested in the future of consciousness studies." -- Annaka Harris, best-selling author of Conscious: A Brief Guide to the Fundamental Mystery of the Mind
"Goff's ideas are radical, but his arguments are rigorous and the book is a pleasure to read. I recommend it to anyone who wants to come to grips with mystery of consciousness." -- David Chalmers, New York University
"In this provocative, brave and clearly written book, Goff makes a compelling case for an initially absurd thesis." -- Lee Smolin, Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics
"Galileo's Error is wonderful introduction to this ancient set of beliefs and how panpsychism can give rise to a naturalized form of spirituality that can overcome the alienation we all feel in today's globalized world that is beginning to fracture" -- Christof Koch, President and chief scientist of the Allen Institute for Brain Science

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Books » Nonfiction » Philosophy » Movements » General
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Galileo's Error: Foundations for a New Science of Consciousness on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top