Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Germs! (Dirty Bertie)
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

David Roberts worked as a fashion illustrator in Hong Kong before becoming a children's books illustrator. He has worked with a hugely successful list of authors including Philip Ardagh, Julia Donaldson and Georgia Byng. In 2006 David won a gold award in the Nestle Children's Book Prize for Mouse Noses on Toast. Alan MacDonald dreamed of becoming a professional footballer when he was a child, but then he won a pen in a writing competition and his fate was sealed. Alan has since written over sixty children's books, including the Troll Trouble series. He also writes for TV, including the hugely popular Horrid Henry on CITV.

Reviews

K-Gr 2-Humorous illustrations and super-funny texts will keep readers' attention as Bertie makes choices that will elicit massive giggles. In Fangs, his classmates dress up like their favorite book characters, and Bertie discovers that his costume as a vampire is the same as the one worn by the school janitor. What is troubling to Bertie is he knows the janitor really is a vampire and he must prove it. In the next story, he is due for a haircut and decides to have a friend do it. Finally, Bertie disappears at the mall and ends up in a fashion show. His taste of the runway goes awry as he ends up plowing into the other models with his skateboard. In Germs!, three short stories unfold as Bertie tries to get out of going to school by catching his sister's chicken pox, discovers itching powder as he dances with his grandmother in a competition, and gets to have the babysitter every kid dreams about when Kevin's apathy toward babysitting results in a free-for-all for Bertie. Fans of Dav Pilkey, Lincoln Peirce, and Jeff Kinney will gravitate toward these short stories with strong boy appeal. Reluctant readers and children looking for beginning chapter books will find Bertie entertaining, grossness and all.-Melissa Smith, Royal Oak Public Library, MI (c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Germs! (Dirty Bertie) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top