How does Fishpond Work?

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

New or Used: 2 copies from $14.00
When tragedy strikes, there's only one place she can go! A captivating debut from a born storyteller. When 8-year-old Mirren Gilchrist is orphaned after a tragic accident, she is sent to live with her estranged relatives deep in the Yorkshire Dales. She struggles to fit in, her town ways a mystery to the country children. One day, fleeing school -- and the cane -- she takes refuge from a fierce snowstorm in the ruins of a stone cottage. Legend has it that World's End is haunted but Mirren has finally found somewhere she can call home and her love affair with this magical place begins. It's the place she falls in love with Jack, the place she secretly hopes will one day become their very own. But the Second World War arrives and everything is thrown into turmoil. Jack returns from leave a changed man -- violent and uncaring, a cruel streak shining though. Mirren struggles to cope with the transformed Jack and new motherhood. Then tragedy strikes and history looks set to repeat itself. Is heartache here to stay or can Mirren find solace and inspiration in the only place she has ever felt truly safe?
Product Details

Promotional Information

When tragedy strikes, there's only one place she can go! A captivating debut from a born storyteller. / The launch of an epic storyteller who weaves emotional storylines with historical detail and breathtaking landscapes / Innovative packaging including larger font size / Perfect for fans of Lesley Pearse, Josephine Cox and ITV dramas such as Heartbeat, The Royal and Where the Heart Is / The author draws inspiration from the small village she lives in, located in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales / Consumer-focused sales and marketing campaign / Competition: Josephine Cox, Charlotte Bingham, Maeve Binchy, Lesley Pearce

About the Author

Leah Fleming was born in Lancashire of Scottish parents, and is married with four grown-up children and four grandchildren. She writes full-time from a haunted farmhouse in the Yorkshire Dales and from the slopes of an olive grove in Crete.

Reviews

'A beautiful, almost poetically-written tale of love and tragedy in the Yorkshire Dales mainly set during the Second World War. The characters are real flesh and blood and the reader shares their ups and downs with genuine empathy.' Maureen Lee, author of Kitty and her Sisters 'An epic tale of hardship and tragedy straddling the Second World War' The Bookseller All bookshop, independent and library sales to Gardners Books www.gardners.com http://pubeasy.books.gardners.com Customer Care Tel: +44 (0)1323 521777 Customer Care Fax: +44 (0)1323 521666 Gardcall: 01323 521444 www.avon-books.co.uk avon@harpercollins.co.uk

Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Girl From World's End on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top