Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Girl Next Door [Paperback]
By

Rating
New or Used: 2 copies from $5.75
New or Used: 2 copies from $5.75

Product Description
Product Details

Reviews

In Noble's (The Reading Group) fifth novel, the girl next door is always more than she seems. In this nearly yearlong chronicle of the lives of the residents of one Manhattan apartment building, she's newly arrived British ex-pat Eve with the workaholic husband; mousy Charlotte, living vicariously through romance novel heroines; sexy and worldly Madison; romance-shy Emily; brittle Kim, throwing herself into motherhood at the expense of her marriage; golden girl Rachael; and Violet, a regal Englishwoman who holds the world at arm's length until the arrival of Eve stirs old wounds and new joys. Verdict Covering territory familiar to readers of women's fiction, if in slightly condensed form because of multiple, intersecting story lines, the novel features an overly ambitious cast of characters. However, the vivid primary protagonists and dramatic plot twists full of headache and heartache make this a safe bet for fans of Barbara Delinsky and Jane Green.-Amy Brozio-Andrews, Albany P.L., NY Copyright 2009 Reed Business Information.

Noble charts the intertwining lives of the residents of a New York City apartment building in her charming love letter to Manhattan. After banker Ed Gallagher's promotion necessitates a move from the U.K. to New York, he and his wife, Eve, are thrilled to find the perfect Upper East Side apartment, though Eve struggles to meet people until she befriends Violet Wallace, an 82-year-old fellow Englishwoman in her building who enchants her with the story of her path to Manhattan. Elsewhere in the building, shiftless trust fund baby Jackson Grayling III has fallen in love with Emily Mikanowski, a stunner living downstairs, while Emily's downstairs neighbor and friend, frumpy librarian Charlotte, works up the nerve to speak to Che, the Cuban doorman. And on the sixth floor, the Kramers and Schulmans, married couples with young children, struggle with two sets of very different marital problems. Noble (The Reading Group) presents her sprawling cast without neglecting them as characters or confusing the reader, and though she's got something of a wooden ear for her younger characters' dialogue, her handle on heartbreak and hopefulness is admirable. (Dec.) Copyright 2009 Reed Business Information.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Books
People also searched for
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Girl Next Door [Paperback] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top