Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Giver of Stars [Audio]
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

JOJO MOYES is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Still Me, After You, Me Before You, The Peacock Emporium, The Horse Dancer, Paris for One and Other Stories, One Plus One, The Girl You Left Behind, The Last Letter from Your Lover, Silver Bay, and The Ship of Brides. She lives with her husband and three children in Essex, England.

Reviews

Praise for The Giver of Stars:

"A captivating tale of love, friendship, and self-actualization."
--People "The Giver of Stars is a richly rewarding exploration of the depths of friendship, good men willing to stand up to bad and adult love. Moyes celebrates the power of reading in a terrific book that only reinforces that message."
--USA Today "Though she made her mark writing contemporary romance, Moyes proves just as adept at historical fiction. . . The Giver of Stars is a celebration of love, but also of reading, of knowledge, of female friendship, of the beauty of our most rural corners and our enduring American grit: the kind of true grit that can be found in the hills of Kentucky and on the pages of this inspiring book."
--The Washington Post "With characters so real they feel like dear friends and a compelling storyline, this is a beautiful, special novel. I loved it and didn't want it to end!"
--Liane Moriarty, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Big Little Lies "[A] dramatic, sweeping story. . . As well as creating wonderful strong characters, Jojo Moyes has an incredible eye for historical detail -- I really felt as though I was riding over those Kentucky mountains with those women."
--Sophie Kinsella for Bustle "Timeless, Jojo Moyes' greatest work yet, and one of the most exquisitely-written--and absolutely compulsory--novels about women ever told."
--Lisa Taddeo, #1 New York Times bestselling author of
Three Women "Epic in scope and fiercely feminist. . . an unforgettable story."
--PopSugar "Inspired by the history of the actual Pack Horse Librarians, Moyes depicts the courage and resourcefulness of these women in loving detail. The Giver of Stars is a tribute not just to the brave women who brought the light of knowledge in dark times, but also to the rejuvenating bond of women's friendship."
--The Associated Press "Moyes brings an often forgotten slice of history to life. . . the true power of the story is in the bonds between the women of the library. . . A love letter to the power of books and friendship."
--Kirkus Reviews
(starred)
"[A] homage to the power of reading and the strength of community. . . A must-read for women's fiction."
--Booklist (starred) "An adventure story grounded in female competence and mutual support, and an obvious affection for the popular literature of the early 20th century, give this Depression-era novel plenty of appeal. . . There's plenty of drama, but the reader's lasting impression is one of love."
--Publishers Weekly "Rich in history, with well-developed characters and a strong sense of place, this book will fit well in any library's fiction collection. For fans of Sara Gruen's Water for Elephants or Catherine Marshall's Christy."
--Library Journal (starred)

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Giver of Stars on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top