COVID-19 Response at Fishpond.com.au

Read what we're doing...

God's Spy
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Juan Gomez-Jurado is an award-winning journalist who has worked in radio and television. Published in more than 35 countries worldwide, his novels include God's Spy, The Moses Expedition, and The Traitor's Emblem. He lives with his family in Spain.

Reviews

A routine plot doesn't do justice to the intriguing premise of this debut thriller, a bestseller in Spain, about a serial killer stalking the cardinals poised to vote on Pope John Paul II's successor. Young, attractive Paola Dicanti, an inspector in an Italian violent crime unit and an FBI-trained profiler, is summoned to a church in Vatican City where a cardinal's mutilated corpse has been discovered. To her outrage, Dicanti learns that the victim is the second in a series, and that the identity of the killer-a pedophilic priest with a history of violence, Victor Karosky-is known to a new and mysterious ally, Anthony Fowler, a former priest and American intelligence operative. The cat-and-mouse game between the police and Karosky is nothing new, while Gomez-Jurado's use of the sex scandals that have rocked the Roman Catholic church is sensational rather than sensitive. American readers may be amused that Bush administration figure John Negroponte plays the part of shadowy backstage conspirator. (Apr.) Copyright 2007 Reed Business Information.

Madrid journalist Gomez-Jurado hopes to replicate the instant success he enjoyed in Spain with this English translation of his first novel, set during the 2005 Conclave to elect a new pope. Paola Dicanti, Italy's only Quantico-trained certified profiler, is chasing a serial killer targeting cardinals. The arrival of American priest Padre Fowler, who identifies the suspect, provides many layers of intrigue. Fowler is a psychologist, former CIA operative, and persona non grata with the Curia. His deep insight into the case stems from time served as a therapist at a rehab facility for Catholic priests with a history of sexual abuse-another layer of intrigue. Dicanti must learn to trust him if she wants to catch the killer before he strikes again. The Vatican secret police have their own agenda, and Dicanti finds the sovereign nation makes her job nearly impossible. A grisly story in the tradition of Thomas Harris, Gomez-Jurado's richly detailed thriller will appeal more to fans of TV's Criminal Minds than to those of CSI. Recommended for most popular fiction collections.-Laura A.B. Cifelli, Ft. Myers-Lee Cty. P.L., FL Copyright 2007 Reed Business Information.

A dark and riveting murder thriller, crafted with great cunning and flair. A classy and hugely satisfying piece of writing.
Raymond Khoury, "New York Times" bestselling author of "The Last Templar"
Juan Gmez-Jurado has deftly managed to convey a sinister side of not just the Vatican. His "Gods Spy" in reality offers a stunning literary portrait of the darkness that lies within us all. And recognizing that darkness is essential to combating it.
Javier Sierra, "New York Times" bestselling author of "The Secret Supper"
[A] riveting debut . . . first-rate thriller. Thomas Harris meets Dan Brown.
"Booklist"
Electrifying. . . . A wild, compelling ride.
Bookreporter.com
Juan Gmez-Jurado is the new pope of Vatican intrigue.
"Qu Leer" (Spain)
aA dark and riveting murder thriller, crafted with great cunning and flair. A classy and hugely satisfying piece of writing.a
aRaymond Khoury, "New York Times" bestselling author of "The Last Templar"
aJuan GA3mez-Jurado has deftly managed to convey a sinister side of not just the Vatican. His "Godas Spy" in reality offers a stunning literary portrait of the darkness that lies within us all. And recognizing that darkness is essential to combating it.a
aJavier Sierra, "New York Times" bestselling author of "The Secret Supper"
a[A] riveting debut . . . first-rate thriller. Thomas Harris meets Dan Brown.a
a"Booklist"
aElectrifying. . . . A wild, compelling ride.a
aBookreporter.com
aJuan GA3mez-Jurado is the new pope of Vatican intrigue.a
a"QuA(c) Leer" (Spain)
?A dark and riveting murder thriller, crafted with great cunning and flair. A classy and hugely satisfying piece of writing.?
?Raymond Khoury, "New York Times" bestselling author of "The Last Templar"

?Juan G?mez-Jurado has deftly managed to convey a sinister side of not just the Vatican. His "God's Spy" in reality offers a stunning literary portrait of the darkness that lies within us all. And recognizing that darkness is essential to combating it.?
?Javier Sierra, "New York Times" bestselling author of "The Secret Supper"

?[A] riveting debut . . . first-rate thriller. Thomas Harris meets Dan Brown.?
?"Booklist"

?Electrifying. . . . A wild, compelling ride.?
?Bookreporter.com

?Juan G?mez-Jurado is the new pope of Vatican intrigue.?
?"Qu? Leer" (Spain)

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling God's Spy on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top