COVID-19 Response at Fishpond.com.au

Read what we're doing...

A Good Death
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

An award-winning journalist, CHRISTOPHER R. COX has written on and traveled extensively through Southeast Asia for more than 20 years. His work has appeared in The Boston Herald, Reader's Digest, Conde Nast Traveler, Audubon, Men's Journal and ESPN: The Magazine.

Reviews

"A story that channels Conrad, Kipling, and Francis Ford Coppola... An insightful, transcendent adventure. Cox, who has traveled Asia for three decades, creates a vivid sense of place, ties his characters' rich backstories to the tragic war, and illuminates the current plight of Laotian hill tribes. A Good Death is another example of the only positive to emerge from the Vietnam War--fine writing." --Booklist, starred review"Cox's action-packed debut is perfect for armchair travelers who will be amazed by the author's ability to make gaudy Bangkok and the remote hill country of Laos come alive... Award-winning journalist Cox puts his travel writing skills to good use in a book that is perfect for fans of Tim Hallinan and Hilary Davidson." --Library Journal, starred review"Intrigue aplenty... Throughout it all, veteran journalist Cox's first novel gradually and expertly turns up the heat, doling out the exotic details by careful teaspoons early on before plunging Sebastian into a world far from his comfort zone. A debut thriller whose predominant tone, as its title suggests, is a profound sadness that no death, not even for an insurance company's client, is a good death." --Kirkus"Those fond of exotic foreign locales will welcome journalist Cox's mystery debut, set in Southeast Asia... Vivid descriptive prose." --Publishers Weekly"If you didn't already know it, you'd swear Christopher R. Cox was an experienced traveler and journalist, due to the evocative and often haunting descriptions of the far-flung locales of his debut mystery novel, A Good Death.... Cox impressively and skillfully incorporates Sebastian's past with the events leading him to Bangkok in the opening chapters. Along the way, and throughout the book, the author treats us to wonderfully effective and sensory-filled descriptions of the areas." --Bookgasm.com"A first rate mystery, beautifully crafted, fast-paced, and populated with the most vivid (and at times seamy) characters. But what lifts this novel way above most others are the exquisitely realized settings, from sizzling Bankok nightclubs to the deep, suffocating jungles of Laos. A bravura debut!" --Douglas Preston, #1 bestselling co-author of the Pendergast series of novels"A Good Death takes readers into the wild, wild east of Thailand, Vietnam, and Laos--and keeps them there with an engaging mystery, told by compelling, complex characters. Like its exotic locales, Mr. Cox's vibrant, colorful, and crisp prose will capture your attention from beginning to the end." --Loung Ung, national bestselling author of First They Killed My Father"Memorable characters riding a high-speed roller coaster of a plot against a backdrop that drips with the seductive scents and images of Southeast Asia--Cox's debut novel proves him to be a masterful storyteller." --Eliot Pattison, Edgar-Award winning author of Mandarin Gate"Christopher R. Cox blends grit, heart, and a reporter's eye to create unforgettable characters and a haunting story. He brings Bangkok alive in detail that will make you feel you've walked its perilous streets yourself. A Good Death is a great debut!" --Steve Ulfelder, Edgar-nominated author of The Whole Lie

When American Linda Watts, who emigrated from Laos as a child refugee, dies of a drug overdose in Bangkok, the insurance company holding her policy doesn't buy that her death was accidental. They send Boston PI Sebastian Damon to Thailand to investigate. Once there, Sebastian realizes two things: Linda is alive, and he is unable to navigate Thai society on his own. Wisely, he enlists the aid of Sam Honeyman, one of his dad's buddies from 'Nam, who has made Thailand his home. Sam and Sebastian find Linda, and the trio then sneaks into Laos where Linda has unfinished family business: finding her long-lost American father. Meeting such dangerous challenges as corrupt cops, the threat of malaria, and suspicious tribal people ensures an exciting showdown. VERDICT Cox's action-packed debut is perfect for armchair travelers who will be amazed by the author's ability to make gaudy Bangkok and the remote hill country of Laos come alive. The Caucasian PI-entranced-by-demure-Asian-beauty device is a bit timeworn, but the author's fresh spin (his Asian beauty is quite complicated!) makes that a minor complaint. Award-winning journalist Cox puts his travel writing skills to good use in a book that is perfect for fans of Tim Hallinan and Hilary Davidson. (c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling A Good Death on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top