SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Grave Robber's Apprentice
By

Rating
Hans doesn't know who he is or where he came from. When he was a baby, he washed ashore in a wooden box and was adopted by the conniving grave robber, Knobbe the Bent. Now fate has thrown him together with Angela von Schwanenberg, a young countess fleeing for her life from the evil Archduke Arnulf and his dreaded Necromancer. Together, these friends are on a daring quest to discover Hans' true identity and to save Angela's parents from the archduke.Join Hans and Angela on their grand adventure as they ride through the depths of the great forest, sled down a mountain in a coffin, and sneak along the secret passageways of the archduke's palace. The Grave Robber's Apprentice is a world of highwaymen, hermits, and dancing bears; and of a boy separated from his family by the sea.In this world anything is possible with luck and imagination--even for a grave robber's apprentice.
Product Details

Reviews

"A playfully dramatic adventure with swashbuckling kids, mountain hermits, avalanche sledding and circus bears. Stratton's prose is artistic, clever and funny."--Kirkus Reviews "This clever tale hits all the right notes."--Publishers Weekly "The Graverobber's Apprentice is a tale told with sound and furious action--chock full of villainous villains, heroic heroes (and heroines), and moments of absolute hilarity. Stratton is a master at his craft and he's given this story a heart of gold."--Arthur Slade, author of The Hunchback Assignments "A rollicking and enchanting fairy tale for the 21st century."--Kenneth Oppel, author of the Airborne trilogy and Silverwing series "A fun read."--School Library Journal "Readers who like their fairy tales packed with action and happy endings will want to add this to their collection."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books "Fans of Philip Pullman's Clockwork and Ken Oppel will delight in Stratton's wit and zest, and his jokes, twists, ghosts, wolves, prophecies and gothic tropes."--The Times (London) This clever tale hits all the right notes. --Publishers Weekly" A playfully dramatic adventure with swashbuckling kids, mountain hermits, avalanche sledding and circus bears. Stratton s prose is artistic, clever and funny. --Kirkus Reviews" Fans of Philip Pullman s Clockwork and Ken Oppel will delight in Stratton s wit and zest, and his jokes, twists, ghosts, wolves, prophecies and gothic tropes. --The Times (London)" Readers who like their fairy tales packed with action and happy endings will want to add this to their collection. --Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books" The Graverobber s Apprentice is a tale told with sound and furious action chock full of villainous villains, heroic heroes (and heroines), and moments of absolute hilarity. Stratton is a master at his craft and he s given this story a heart of gold. --Arthur Slade, author of The Hunchback Assignments" A rollicking and enchanting fairy tale for the 21st century. --Kenneth Oppel, author of the Airborne trilogy and Silverwing series" A fun read. --School Library Journal"

Gr 5-8-Hans is a grave robber in training. He's been in training his whole life, ever since his adopted father found him floating in a chest at the seaside. The problem is that Hans doesn't like his work. He'd much rather sit and stare at the young countess in the nearby castle. Angela Gabriela von Schwanenberg would much rather perform her puppet plays around the world than be a "young lady" and married off as soon as she turns 13. Then the archduke sends for her and informs her that they will marry or he'll kill her family. She comes up with a plan to avoid this fate, which results in Angela and Hans both on the run. It also starts a domino effect that leads to a confrontation with the evil archduke that will either save the kingdom or cost them their lives. The story is a tad predictable but a fun read nonetheless. Savvy readers will quickly figure out Hans's parentage, but fans of fantasy and suspense will still enjoy watching as the details unfold.-Saleena L. Davidson, South Brunswick Public Library, Monmouth Junction, NJ (c) Copyright 2012. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Grave Robber's Apprentice on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top