Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Grit
By

Rating
In this instant New York Times bestseller, pioneering psychologist Angela Duckworth shows anyone striving to succeed--be it parents, students, educators, athletes, or business people--that the secret to outstanding achievement is not talent but a special blend of passion and persistence she calls "grit." Drawing on her own powerful story as the daughter of a scientist who frequently noted her lack of "genius," Duckworth, now a celebrated researcher and professor, describes her early eye-opening stints in teaching, business consulting, and neuroscience, which led to the hypothesis that what really drives success is not "genius" but a unique combination of passion and long-term perseverance. In Grit, she takes readers into the field to visit cadets struggling through their first days at West Point, teachers working in some of the toughest schools, and young finalists in the National Spelling Bee. She also mines fascinating insights from history and shows what can be gleaned from modern experiments in peak performance. Finally, she shares what she's learned from interviewing dozens of high achievers--from JP Morgan CEO Jamie Dimon to New Yorker cartoon editor Bob Mankoff to Seattle Seahawks Coach Pete Carroll. Among Grit's most valuable insights: *Why any effort you make ultimately counts twice toward your goal *How grit can be learned, regardless of I.Q. or circumstances *How lifelong interest is triggered *How much of optimal practice is suffering and how much ecstasy *Which is better for your child--a warm embrace or high standards *The magic of the Hard Thing Rule Winningly personal, insightful, and even life-changing, Grit is a book about what goes through your head when you fall down, and how that--not talent or luck--makes all the difference.
Product Details

Trailer

Reviews

"A fascinating tour of the psychological research on success...A great service of Ms. Duckworth's book is her down-to-earth definition of passion. To be gritty, an individual doesn't need to have an obsessive infatuation with a goal. Rather, he needs to show 'consistency over time.' The grittiest people have developed long-term goals and are constantly working toward them." --The Wall Street Journal "Grit delivers! Angela Duckworth shares the stories, the science, and the positivity behind sustained success...A must-read." --Barbara Fredrickson, author of Positivity and Love 2.0 and President of the International Positive Psychology Association "[Blends] anecdote and science, statistic and yarn...Not your grandpa's self-help book, but Duckworth's text is oddly encouraging, exhorting us to do better by trying harder, and a pleasure to read." --Kirkus Reviews "This book gets into your head, which is where it belongs...For educators who want our kids to succeed, this is an indispensable read." --Joel Klein, former Chancellor, New York City public schools "An important book...In these pages, the leading scholarly expert on the power of grit (what my mom called 'stick-to-it-iveness') carries her message to a wider audience, using apt anecdotes and aphorisms to illustrate how we can usefully apply her insights to our own lives and those of our kids." --Robert D. Putnam, Professor of Public Policy at Harvard and author of Bowling Alone and Our Kids "Profoundly important. For eons, we've been trapped inside the myth of innate talent. Angela Duckworth shines a bright light into a truer understanding of how we achieve. We owe her a great debt." --David Shenk, author of The Genius in All of Us: New Insights into Genetics, Talent, and IQ "An informative and inspiring contribution to the literature of success." --Publishers Weekly "I love an idea that challenges our conventional wisdom and 'grit' does just that! Put aside what you think you know about getting ahead and outlasting your competition, even if they are more talented. Getting smarter won't help you--sticking with it, will!" --Simon Sinek, author of Start With Why and Leaders Eat Last "A thoughtful and engaging exploration of what predicts success. Grit takes on widespread misconceptions and predictors of what makes us strive harder and push further...Duckworth's own story, wound throughout her research, ends up demonstrating her theory best; passion and perseverance make up grit." --Tory Burch, Chairman, CEO and Designer of Tory Burch "Incredibly important...There is deeply embodied grit, which is born of love, purpose, truth to one's core under ferocious heat, and a relentless passion for what can only be revealed on the razor's edge; and there is the cool, patient, disciplined cultivation and study of resilience that can teach us all how to get there. Angela Duckworth's masterpiece straddles both worlds, offering a level of nuance that I haven't read before." --Josh Waitzkin, International Chess Master, Tai Chi Push Hands World Champion, and author of The Art of Learning "A combination of rich science, compelling stories, crisp graceful prose, and appealingly personal examples...Without a doubt, this is the most transformative, eye-opening book I've read this year." --Sonja Lyubomirsky, Professor, University of California, Riverside and author of The How of Happiness "Invaluable...In a world where access to knowledge is unprecedented, this book describes the key trait of those who will optimally take advantage of it. Grit will inspire everyone who reads it to stick to something hard that they have a passion for." --Sal Khan, founder of Khan Academy "Engaging...With strong appeal for readers of Daniel H. Pink, Malcolm Gladwell, and Susan Cain, this is a must-have." --Booklist "Empowering...Angela Duckworth compels attention with her idea that regular individuals who exercise self-control and perseverance can reach as high as those who are naturally talented--that your mindset is as important as your mind." --Soledad O'Brien, Chairman of Starfish MediaGroup and former co-anchor of CNN's "American Morning" "I'm convinced there are no more important qualities in striving for excellence than those that create true grit...I hope you enjoy the book as much as I did." --Brad Stevens, Coach of the Boston Celtics "Masterful...Grit offers a truly sane perspective: that true success comes when we devote ourselves to endeavors that give us joy and purpose." --Arianna Huffington, author of Thrive "Readable, compelling and totally persuasive. The ideas in this book have the potential to transform education, management and the way its readers live. Angela Duckworth's Grit is a national treasure." --Lawrence H. Summers, Former Secretary of the Treasury and President Emeritus at Harvard University "I kept wanting to read this book aloud--to my child, my husband, to everyone I care about. There are no shortcuts to greatness, it's true. But there is a roadmap, and you are holding it." --Amanda Ripley, author of The Smartest Kids in the World: And How They Got That Way "Enlightening...Grit teaches that life's high peaks aren't necessarily conquered by the naturally nimble but, rather, by those willing to endure, wait out the storm, and try again." --Ed Viesturs, Seven-Time Climber of Mount Everest and author of No Shortcuts to the Top "Utterly captivating, inspiring and original...Once you pick up Grit, you won't be able to tear yourself away." --Amy Cuddy, Harvard Business School professor and author of Presence "This book will change your life. Fascinating, rigorous, and practical, Grit is destined to be a classic in the literature of success." --Dan Heath, co-author of Made to Stick, Switch, and Decisive "Grit is a useful guide for parents or teachers looking for confirmation that passion and persistence matter, and for inspiring models of how to cultivate these important qualities." --The Washington Post "If you have recently bumped into that word, grit, Duckworth is the reason...In education and parenting circles, her research has provided a much needed antipode to hovering, by which children are systematically deprived of the opportunity to experience setbacks, much less overcome them...What sticks with you [in Grit] are the testimonials, collected from sources as disparate as Will Smith, William James, and Jeff Bezos's mom, that relentlessly deflate the myth of the natural." --The Atlantic "Fascinating. Angela Duckworth pulls together decades of psychological research, inspiring success stories from business and sports, and her own unique personal experience and distills it all into a set of practical strategies to make yourself and your children more motivated, more passionate, and more persistent at work and at school." --Paul Tough, author of How Children Succeed "Impressively fresh and original...Grit scrubs away preconceptions about how far our potential can take us." --Susan Cain, author of Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking "Grit is a persuasive and fascinating response to the cult of IQ fundamentalism. Duckworth reminds us that it is character and perseverance that set the successful apart." --Malcolm Gladwell, author of The Tipping Point, Blink, and Outliers "Psychologists have spent decades searching for the secret of success, but Angela Duckworth is the one who found it. In this smart and lively book, she not only tells us what it is, but also how to get it." --Daniel Gilbert, author of Stumbling on Happiness "It really isn't talent but practice--along with passion--that makes perfect, explains psychologist Duckworth in this illuminating book. Inspiration for non-geniuses everywhere." --People "Angela Duckworth [is] the psychologist who has made 'grit' the reigning buzzword in education-policy circles...Duckworth's ideas about the cultivation of tenacity have clearly changed some lives for the better...In this book, Duckworth, whose TED talk has been viewed more than eight million times, brings her lessons to the reading public." --Judith Shulevitz, The New York Times Book Review One of "The Year's Best Life Hacks" --Glamour A "Must-Read Business Book for 2016" --Forbes A "Leadership Book to Watch for in 2016" --The Washington Post One of "The Hottest Spring Nonfiction Books" --The Wall Street Journal

Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top