Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Held captive in the barbarian kingdom of Venda, Lia and Rafe have little chance of escape . . . and even less of being together.Desperate to save her life, Lia's erstwhile assassin, Kaden, has told the Vendan Komisar that she has a magical gift, and the Komisar's interest in Lia is greater than either Kaden or Lia foresaw.Meanwhile, the foundations of Lia's deeply-held beliefs are crumbling beneath her. Nothing is straightforward: there's Rafe, who lied to her, but has sacrificed his freedom to protect her; Kaden, who meant to assassinate her but has now saved her life; and the Vendans, whom she always believed to be barbarians but whom she now realizes are people who have been terribly brutalized by the kingdoms of Dalbreck and Morrighan. Wrestling with her upbringing, her gift, and her very sense of self, Lia will have to make powerful choices that affect her country, her people . . . and her own destiny.
Product Details

About the Author

Mary E. Pearson is the author of eight novels for teens, including THE KISS OF DECEPTION and the acclaimed Jenna Fox Chronicles. She writes full-time from her home in Carlsbad, California, where she lives with her husband and two dogs.

Reviews

"It's rare that the second book in a series is as good-or perhaps better-than the first, but that's the case here. . . . Anticipation for the next volume will start as soon as this one is put down." --Booklist, starred review"A heart-pounding sequel that fantasy fans will appreciate." --School Library Journal"Solid and absorbing high fantasy, with a sudden breathless hook to the next installment." --Kirkus Reviews It's rare that the second book in a series is as good-or perhaps better-than the first, but that's the case here. . . . Anticipation for the next volume will start as soon as this one is put down. Booklist, starred review A heart-pounding sequel that fantasy fans will appreciate. School Library Journal Solid and absorbing high fantasy, with a sudden breathless hook to the next installment. Kirkus Reviews" It's rare that the second book in a series is as good-or perhaps better-than the first, but that's the case here. . . . Anticipation for the next volume will start as soon as this one is put down. "Booklist, starred review" A heart-pounding sequel that fantasy fans will appreciate. "School Library Journal" Solid and absorbing high fantasy, with a sudden breathless hook to the next installment. "Kirkus Reviews"" "Pearson (the Jenna Fox Chronicles) is off to an extraordinary start with her fantasy series, creating an alluring world and romance that's ideal for fans of Kristin Cashore and Megan Whalen Turner." --"Publishers Weekly, "starred review ""The Kiss of Deception "has it all--beautiful writing, heart-pounding suspense, a fiery princess, and an epic romance that'll make you swoon. This is definitely one of my favorite reads of the year!" --Alyson Noel, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of "The Immortals """The Kiss of Deception" is a deeply satisfying, intricately plotted fantasy where no one--"no one"--is quite what they seem. Full of lush writing and rich, complex characters, readers will quickly become enmeshed in the intricate web of lies that have been woven into the very fabric of the kingdom itself. A thoroughly engrossing read--I couldn't put it down!" --Robin LaFevers, "New York Times"-bestselling author of "Grave Mercy "and "Dark Triumph ""This is the kind of story I love--a heart-pounding tale of magic and murder, betrayal and romance set in a richly imagined fantasy landscape." --Cinda Williams Chima, "New York Times"-bestselling author of the Seven Realms and the Heir Chronicles"Times"-bestselling author of

How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Heart of Betrayal: The Remnant Chronicles: Book Two (Remnant Chronicles) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top