Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Helsinki White
By

Rating
;
Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

James Thompson, eastern Kentucky-born and -raised, has lived in Finland for more than a dozen years; he now resides in Helsinki with his wife. His debut novel, Snow Angels, was selected as a Booklist Best Crime Novel Debut of the Year and was nominated for Edgar(R), Anthony, and Strand Magazine critics awards. Before becoming a full-time writer, Thompson studied Finnish--in which he is fluent--and Swedish, and worked as a bartender, bouncer, construction worker and soldier. He is also the author of Lucifer's Tears, also in the Inspector Vaara series.

Reviews

"The narrative is exquisitely quick...hard to put down."--Houston Chronicle "Thompson's style is on the dark end of the 'Nordic Noir' spectrum. The genre -- with its stark and often violent police procedurals -- has proved wildly successful...The marquee names have come from Sweden -- think Stieg Larsson's Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, or Henning Mankell's Wallander series -- but Norway's Jo Nesbo and Iceland's Arnaldur Indridason and Yrsa Sigurdardottir have also made their mark with international readers. Thompson stands out from that crowd by writing in English and telling Vaara's gritty narrative in the first person. "--The New York Times "In his dozen years of living in Finland...Thompson has absorbed enough cold, dark atmosphere for a spot on the roster of top Nordic crime writers--Mankell, Nesb , Indrioason and the like."--The New York Post "A must-read for fans of Stieg Larsson and Henning Mankell."--Booklist "The laconic voice of Inspector Kari Vaara is at the same time dangerous and human, his world cold, barren, yet intriguingly exotic."--Peter H eg, New York Times bestselling author of Smilla's Sense of Snow

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Helsinki White (Inspector Vaara Novels) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top