Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Hourglass
By

Rating
Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Tracy Rees was born in South Wales. A Cambridge graduate, she had a successful eight-year career in nonfiction publishing and a second career practising and teaching humanistic counselling. She was the winner of the Richard and Judy Search for a Bestseller Competition and the 2015 LoveStories 'Best Historical Read' award.

Reviews

Be prepared to lose yourself in this evocative tale * Candis * Rees is an elegant and intelligent writer with the gift to imbue her enchanting novels with vivid, well-drawn characters, rich historical detail, emotional wisdom and a wonderfully authentic sense of time and place * Chorley Guardian * [Tracy Rees] has a gift for creating powerful and distinct character voices...Well plotted and well written, The Hourglass will make a wonderful summer read for fans of Lucinda Riley, Rosanna Ley, Rachel Hore or Jojo Moyes * Historical Novel Reviews * Once again I found myself drawn in to Tracy Rees's wonderful story telling so that I set aside daily life until I'd devoured every word * Linda's Book Bag * Descriptive, mysterious and romantic * My Weekly * [Tracy Rees] has a wonderful way of making you feel that you're 'there' in her writing, whether 'there' is a desolate moor in the 1700s or a sunny beach in 1950s * One More Page * The characters are so evocative and the descriptions of Tenby give it the starring role * Woman * This moving tale has warmth and wisdom galore, and shows it's never too late for new beginnings * Psychologies * I absolutely loved The Hourglass. With its wonderful characters, moving storyline, and gorgeous, evocative setting in coastal Wales, it bursts with warmth on every page. It's the perfect, lose-yourself and curl up for hours read. I felt bereft when I finished! * Jenny Ashcroft, author of Beneath a Burning Sky * I can honestly say The Hourglass is one of the best books I have read in a very long time. I've been thinking about it ever since! Tracy writes so very beautifully and lyrically, conjuring up such a strong atmosphere and sense of place. Her characters have wonderful depth and richness, and the whole story felt so wise, poignant and uplifting. I loved it! A beautiful story, so atmospheric and vivid, elegantly told * Nicola Cornick * Tracy Rees describes brilliantly the feeling of being on the cusp between childhood and adulthood, with all its confusions and curiosity. I loved the strong sense of place, as well as the description of the way emotional damage can be passed down through the generations. It's an engrossing read that makes you want to rush to the nearest beach, drink hot chocolate and eat a lot of cake! * Gill Paul, bestselling author of The Secret Wife * Tracy's writing is so fresh, original and authentic * Rosanna Ley * Emotionally resonating. I loved this book's strong sense of time and place * Leah Fleming * A sparkling and compelling mystery . . . captured our hearts from the very first page * Richard and Judy on Amy Snow * An enjoyable and intriguing read * Trisha Ashley * The Hourglass is a beautifully-crafted tale of the ebb and flow of love and friendship. Rees has skilfully interwoven all the joy and pain that comes with families, friends and lovers into a multi-layered story that won't let you go. Bittersweet, compelling and utterly engrossing, I couldn't put it down * Karen Swan, bestselling author of Christmas at Tiffany's * A lovely, tender, enjoyable mystery. It made me want to visit Tenby. -- Rachel Hore Florence is such a strong, intriguing character and the plot is so clever, real and truthful. The whole book feels so very wise, as if it contains half the answers to life * Joanna Courtney, author of The Chosen Queen * Atmospheric and elegantly written, The Hourglass is an evocative story of 1950's Wales, filled with the in-depth historical detail that has become Tracy Rees's trademark * Lucinda Riley * Tracy Rees is the most outstanding new voice in historical fiction * Lucinda Riley, bestselling author * The gorgeous, evocative cover promises much, the rich narrative within delivers more. Tracy Rees writes from the heart and with an obvious passion for her characters. With this, her third novel, her reputation as a writer who never disappoints, is sealed * Kathryn Hughes, bestselling author of The Letter *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Hourglass: a Richard & Judy Bestselling Author on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top