Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

House of Lies
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

The critically-acclaimed, darkly hilarious take on Management Consulting, soon to be a hit on Showtime, starting in January 2012.

About the Author

Martin Kihn was nominated for an Emmy Award for his work as head writer for MTV's Pop-Up Video and was also a staff writer for New York magazine. His articles have appeared in the New York Times, Forbes, GQ, Spy and numerous other national publications. He is a graduate of the Columbia Business School and Yale University.

Reviews

Complete with an appendix of terms like "brain dump," "pulse check" and "swag" (an acronym for "smart wild-assed guess"), this somewhat disjointed, highly intelligent and deeply funny debut memoir skewers a segment of the economy that nearly every white-collar worker has learned to fear and loathe: consultancies. Kihn, who has been nominated for an Emmy as a comedy writer, went to Columbia Business School and has spent the last few years working as a consultant; he writes the "Consultant Debunking Unit" column for Fast Company. Kihn argues that many consultants know little or nothing about the firms they're hired to help; furthermore, he contends, they often offer companies information that companies already have. For him, the consulting industry is a shell game, imparting an air of authority and expertise rather than actual authority and expertise. To achieve the illusion, Kihn says, consultants use mechanisms ranging from legions of Harvard MBAs in Oxford shirts to reams of incomprehensible blather presented as winning corporate wisdom. His reconstructed dialogue from within his (unnamed) firm and from his time serving clients is alone worth the price of admission, as is his relentless taunting (by name) of McKinsey, Deloitte & Touche and others. Agent, Simon Lipskar at Writer's House. (Mar. 21) Copyright 2005 Reed Business Information.

This highly intelligent and deeply funny debut memoir skewers a segment of the economy that nearly every white-collar worker has learned to fear and loathe: consultancies... His reconstructed dialogue from within his (unnamed) firm and from his time serving clients is alone with the price of admission. - Publishers Weekly.A more entertaining book about business is unlikely to appear for a long time. - Economist.com.Exceedingly smart and funny... Kihn's breezy, Jay McInerney-inspired writing renders the damnable daily life of the management consultant precisely, often hilariously. - Salon.com.

Stand-up comic and Emmy Award--nominated author Kihn takes listeners on a humorous journey through the pitfalls and shenanigans of management consulting. Deciding to "go straight," Kihn left the hustle and bustle of comedy, earned a Yale MBA, and began consulting. His keen wit shines in this irreverent insider's look at a field the author describes as filled with people who cannot really do anything but are very good at wasting time, energy, and huge sums of other people's money. This will appeal to fans of John Mickle-thwait and Adrian Wooldridge's The Witch Doctors, which takes a similar approach to management gurus. Note that the material is the basis for the new Showtime TV series House of Lies, starring Don Cheadle as Kihn, which adds appeal. Audie Award winner and Audiofile Magazine Best Voice narrator Johnny Heller's crisp, lively reading nicely steadies the pace of this entertaining, engaging material. VERDICT With the author's limited experience in this field, his perspective does not serve as a definitive, inside analysis, but Kihn's humorous approach makes it of interest to business school students, as well as those inside this industry.-Dale Farris, Groves, TX (c) Copyright 2012. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling House of Lies: How Management Consultants Steal Your Watch and Then Tell You the Time on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top