COVID-19 Response at Fishpond.com.au

Read what we're doing...

How Should a Person Be?
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

A raw, startling, genre-defying novel of friendship, sex, and love in the new millennium. Perfect for fans of Jennifer Egan, Joan Didion, Melissa Banks, and Leanne Shapton.

About the Author

Sheila Heti is the author of several books of fiction, including The Middle Stories and Ticknor, and a book of "conversational philosophy" called The Chairs Are Where the People Go, written with Misha Glouberman, which was chosen by The New Yorker as a best book of 2011. Her writing has appeared in The New York Times, Bookforum, McSweeney's, n+1, The Guardian, and other places. She lives in Toronto.

Reviews

Helen Fielding made it funny and fictional in Bridget Jones's Diary; Elizabeth Gilbert did it without laughs in Eat, Pray, Love. Now in this mashup of memoir, fiction, self-help and philosophy, Sheila Heti has added a bit of a story, quite a few blow jobs and some cheeky exclamation marks, and finally made it credible * Guardian *
A really amazing metafiction-meets-nonfiction novel * Lena Dunham, star and creator of HBO series 'Girls' *
A beguiling "novel from life" about creativity and authenticity * Guardian Pick of 2013 *
Funny, bawdy and fiercely original, this is the book everyone's talking about - and for good reason * Easy Living *
A shamelessly funny read that's got all of America talking * Grazia *
Part of a growing movement to explore the messiness, self-consciousness and doubt of young women who have been told the world offers them unprecedented opportunity, and who are discovering just what that means -- Kira Cochrane * G2 *
It will be one of the most talked-about books of 2013 * Irish Tatler, 2013 Hot List *
Original...hilarious... Part confessional, part play, part novel, and more-it's one wild ride...Think HBO'S Girls in book form * Marie Claire *
Utterly beguiling: blunt, charming, funny, and smart. Heti subtly weaves together ideas about sex, femininity and artistic ambition. Reading this genre-defying book was pure pleasure * David Shields, author of Reality Hunger *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling How Should a Person Be? on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top