Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

I Kill the Mockingbird
By

Rating
When Lucy, Elena, and Michael receive their summer reading list, they are excited to see To Kill A Mockingbird included. But not everyone in their class shares the same enthusiasm. So they hatch a plot to get the entire town talking about the well-known Harper Lee classic. They plan controversial ways to get people to read the book, including re-shelving copies of the book in bookstores so that people think they are missing and starting a website committed to "destroying the mockingbird." Their efforts are successful when all of the hullabaloo starts to direct more people to the book. But soon, their exploits start to spin out of control and they unwittingly start a mini revolution in the name of books.
Product Details

Promotional Information

Three friends Lucy, Elena, and Michael try to entice their entire town to read To Kill A Mockingbird through very questionable means in this hilarious middle-grade novel-perfect for fans of Andrew Clements.

About the Author

Paul Acampora writes novels and short stories for teens, middle grade and elementary school readers. Born and raised in Bristol, Connecticut, Paul now lives and works in Pennsylvania's Lehigh Valley. A proud graduate of the University of Notre Dame (1985), Paul is a former kindergarten teacher, a current college administrator and a member of the Eastern PA Chapter of the Society of Children's Book Writers & Illustrators (SCBWI)

Reviews

"Fans of the Harper Lee classic--and book nerds everywhere--should flock to this uplifting, unabashed tribute." --"The Horn Book""The banter among the three whip-smart friends would make John Green proud. . . . You won't have to hide any copies of this to create demand." --"BCCB""Acampora's well-written, resolutely cheerful offering celebrates books, reading, and life." --"Booklist""Funny, poignant, and quirky." --"School Library Journal""Fans of Janet Tashjian's "The Gospel According to Larry" series will enjoy this look at how the power of creativity and the internet can cause a cultural movement. . . . Acampora's novel is for lovers of literature, especially how the classics work in the current moment." --"VOYA""Literary terrorists hit Connecticut, but things go awry for a trio of well-meaning book addicts. . . . The spot-on dialogue combines with the irresistible appeal of young teenagers enthusiastically pursuing bad ideas for a fast, page-flipping read." --"Kirkus Reviews ""This strong novel stands on its own as a testament to the power of reverse psychology, but will resonate with fans of the original "Mockingbird" and maybe inspire a few to check it out." --"Publishers Weekly" "Fans of the Harper Lee classic--and book nerds everywhere--should flock to this uplifting, unabashed tribute." --The Horn Book "The banter among the three whip-smart friends would make John Green proud. . . . You won't have to hide any copies of this to create demand." --BCCB "Acampora's well-written, resolutely cheerful offering celebrates books, reading, and life." --Booklist "Funny, poignant, and quirky." --School Library Journal "Fans of Janet Tashjian's The Gospel According to Larry series will enjoy this look at how the power of creativity and the internet can cause a cultural movement. . . . Acampora's novel is for lovers of literature, especially how the classics work in the current moment." --VOYA "Literary terrorists hit Connecticut, but things go awry for a trio of well-meaning book addicts. . . . The spot-on dialogue combines with the irresistible appeal of young teenagers enthusiastically pursuing bad ideas for a fast, page-flipping read." --Kirkus Reviews "This strong novel stands on its own as a testament to the power of reverse psychology, but will resonate with fans of the original Mockingbird and maybe inspire a few to check it out." --Publishers Weekly Fans of the Harper Lee classic--and book nerds everywhere--should flock to this uplifting, unabashed tribute. The Horn Book The banter among the three whip-smart friends would make John Green proud. . . . You won't have to hide any copies of this to create demand. BCCB Acampora's well-written, resolutely cheerful offering celebrates books, reading, and life. Booklist Funny, poignant, and quirky. School Library Journal Fans of Janet Tashjian's The Gospel According to Larry series will enjoy this look at how the power of creativity and the internet can cause a cultural movement. . . . Acampora's novel is for lovers of literature, especially how the classics work in the current moment. VOYA Literary terrorists hit Connecticut, but things go awry for a trio of well-meaning book addicts. . . . The spot-on dialogue combines with the irresistible appeal of young teenagers enthusiastically pursuing bad ideas for a fast, page-flipping read. Kirkus Reviews This strong novel stands on its own as a testament to the power of reverse psychology, but will resonate with fans of the original Mockingbird and maybe inspire a few to check it out. Publishers Weekly " Fans of the Harper Lee classic--and book nerds everywhere--should flock to this uplifting, unabashed tribute. "The Horn Book" The banter among the three whip-smart friends would make John Green proud. . . . You won't have to hide any copies of this to create demand. "BCCB" Acampora's well-written, resolutely cheerful offering celebrates books, reading, and life. "Booklist" Funny, poignant, and quirky. "School Library Journal" Fans of Janet Tashjian's "The Gospel According to Larry" series will enjoy this look at how the power of creativity and the internet can cause a cultural movement. . . . Acampora's novel is for lovers of literature, especially how the classics work in the current moment. "VOYA" Literary terrorists hit Connecticut, but things go awry for a trio of well-meaning book addicts. . . . The spot-on dialogue combines with the irresistible appeal of young teenagers enthusiastically pursuing bad ideas for a fast, page-flipping read. "Kirkus Reviews" This strong novel stands on its own as a testament to the power of reverse psychology, but will resonate with fans of the original "Mockingbird" and maybe inspire a few to check it out. "Publishers Weekly""

How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling I Kill the Mockingbird on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top