Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Turn your Clutter Into Cash with SmartSell.TM Book a Courier Pickup Today!

If I Knew You Were Going To Be This Beautiful, I Never Would Have Let You Go
By

Rating
Judy Chicurel's exquisitely written debut evokes the atmosphere of a 1970s summer in a close-knit working class community on Long Island. Katie and her young friends face a changing world, with prospects very different from those presented to their parents. The Vietnam War seems pointless to many but has devastated lives that remain broken even after the fighting is over. As, with bittersweet humour, the characters' experiences unfold, daily events mirror bigger issues: an illegal abortion is plotted; the town is sinking into an economic abyss forcing Katie's friends to leave in search of more promising horizons; drugs claim the lives of those often too high to recognise the danger until it is too late; and Katie dreams of a boy back from Nam who's still fighting a battle she doesn't understand. IF I KNEW YOU WERE GOING TO BE THIS BEAUTIFUL, I NEVER WOULD HAVE LET YOU GO touchingly conveys the magic of everyday living during a darkened time.
Product Details

Promotional Information

An outstanding debut on Tinder Press for readers of Jennifer Egan and Anne Tyler, set in a working class Long Island community in the early 1970s.

About the Author

Judy Chicurel grew up in Long Beach, Long Island. Her work has appeared in national, regional and international publications including the New York Times, Granta, and Newsday. Her plays have been produced and performed in Manhattan and India. She lives in Brooklyn, New York. http://www.judychicurel.com/

Reviews

Chicurel [is] a gifted and versatile writer, and always draws you in * Sunday Express * Beautifully evocative * Observer * 'This love story set in 70s Long Island is guaranteed to have you gripped' * NOW * 'A thought-provoking debut novel' * CLOSER * This book will haunt you long after you've finished * harpersbazaar.co.uk * Beautiful and heart-breaking at once. A mesmerising, compulsive combination -- Adele Parks Beautifully written prose... Rarely do books evoke so viscerally a place, so tangibly a time and such a broad sweep of big themes * Hannah Beckerman * The story hooked me in so I felt the characters' pain and hope * WOMAN & HOME * Chicurel's novel has its dark moments, but the overriding sentiment is one of acceptance, resilience and the enduring power of friendship. A coming-of-age-tale with a haunting quality 4* * The Lady * Despite the dark sides, If I Knew is gorgeous and thoughtful; a compelling, wonderful look at a particular point in time * EMERALD STREET * 'Tender and brave storytelling' * GRAZIA * Raw, nostalgic, utterly compelling and very, very cool... A mind-blowingly impressive debut -- Eva Rice 'A really wonderful book that will capture your heart and occupy your thoughts' * SUNDAY MIRROR *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top