Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Island Wife
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

A memoir of a woman's life on a remote Scottish island - from 19-year-old girl to wife of one to mother of five, hotelier, domestic miracle worker, to empty nester to writer. For fans of Wife in the North and Sightlines.

About the Author

Judy Fairbairns has lived on her Scottish island with her husband since 1978. Married now for 40 years, she has five children, all grown up - one of whom runs the whale watching business she and her husband started. Island Wife is her first book. She paints, takes wild walks and is working on a novel.www.wildcolour.co.uk/

Reviews

An unflinching and hugely entertaining story of family travails and triumphs. - Kirsty WarkA sensitive, brave and honest look at a life lived in the wake of others' needs. - The Daily MailThis is exceptional. It is beautifully written with important things to say about how we value life, our relationships and our surroundings. - BBC Countrylife MagazineFirst there was the romance: moving to a tiny Hebridean island with wild orchids, wilder seas and the man she loves. Judy Fairbairns dutifully looks after livestock in bleak winters, raises five children and behaves just how the world and her husband thinks she should. But then her own storm kicks in and blasts open a door to a whole new life. - Sainsbury's MagazineThis true story is one of stoicism, adventure and family in the face of adversities that threaten to wreck her dreams. - The Daily ExpressThis is a frequently beautiful autobiography that may well become a lifebelt for the thousands of women who find themselves drowning in the confusing storms that so often attend being a mother, wife and hard-working professional. - Herald ScotlandExtraordinary. - Woman & HomeIn this delightfully warm, frank memoir, Judy Fairbairns describes the ups and downs of life on a Scottish island estate. Full of humour and wisdom, this is also Judy's own story, and a touching and uplifting one at that. Her vibrancy - obvious at even the most testing of times - is evident on every page. - Good Book Guide

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Island Wife: Living on the Edge of the Wild on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top