Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Island Will Sink
By

Rating
The Island Will Sink is set decades from now - a not-too-distant future which is not so different. The energy crisis has come and gone. Cities have been rethought and redesigned, and Ecolaw(TM) is enforced by insidious cartoon Pandas and their armies of viral-marketing children. Max Galleon is a filmmaker of immersive cinema, a father to two children distressed by the world around, a distant husband, a brother to a comatose mystery man, and falling rapidly in love with a doctor who is not what she seems. The Island Will Sink is a terrific postmodern science fiction novel in the vein of Michel Houellebecq and Phillip K. Dick, and marks the official breakthrough of a compelling literary talent. "The structure is adventurous, dense and poetic...I thought of J.G Ballard's imaginatively coherent, hard-edged, full-fledged imaginings" - Luke Davies, author of 'Candy' and 'God of Speed', Screenwriter of 'Life' and 'Lion' "The Island Will Sink is not 'just' a novel. It is the most assured and innovative debut I have read in a long time, one that has me excited about poliyical possibilities of postmodern fiction." - Pip Smith, 'The Australian'. Full The Australian review here. "Science fiction fans will spot echoes of J. G. Ballard and Philip K. Dick in the narrative and quirky incidental moments (Max's socks have an inbuilt compass and his house changes its settings when he enters). 'The Island Will Sink' is groundbreaking enough to hope it might lead to greater interest in publishing Australian science fiction." - The Saturday Paper. Full The Saturday Paper review here.
Product Details
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Island Will Sink on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top