Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Turn your Clutter Into Cash with SmartSell.TM Book a Courier Pickup Today!

Mira Levenson is bursting with excitement as she flies to India to stay with her aunt and cousin for the first time. As soon as she lands Mira is hurled into the sweltering heat and a place full of new sights, sounds, and deeply buried family secrets . . . From the moment Mira meets Janu she feels an instant connection. He becomes her guide, showing her both the beauty and the chaos of Kolkata. Nothing is as she imagined it - and suddenly home feels a long way away. Before Mira leaves India she is determined to uncover the truth about her family, whatever it takes, and she must also make a decision that will break someone's heart.
Product Details

Promotional Information

Sita's debut novel, ARTICHOKE HEARTS, won the 2011 Waterstone's Children's Book Prize. JASMINE SKIES continues Mira's journey as she travels to India. For readers of Cathy Cassidy, Jacqueline Wilson, Judy Blume and Jenny Valentine. Sita's voice is fresh, engaging and acutely perceptive. Her rich description and characterization make her writing utterly irresistible. Sita's background in children's theatre workshops has perfectly equipped her for publicity events. Features, competitions and giveaways in magazines and on websites. Review coverage guaranteed. Prepublication seeding campaign on www.mykindabook.com - our brand-new interactive forum for teen readers. Sita's third novel will publish in April 2013.

About the Author

Sita was born in Derby in 1966 to an Indian doctor from Kolkata and an English nurse from the Lake District. She has a BA in English Literature and an MA in Arts Education. Her many projects and writing commissions have been produced in theatres, universities, schools and community groups throughout Britain and America. Sita lives and works in North London with her husband, three children and a temperamental cat.

Reviews

'I really wish Sita had been writing when I was growing up as this beautiful heartfelt book explores so eloquently the need to find your history in order to find yourself' Meera Syal 'Sometimes second books can be disappointing. This one most certainly isn't. In fact, I think it's even better than the first. Sita's skill lies in making her reader really feel that intimate tug and pull of family relationships as well as the confusing ups and downs of teenage love, and in this book she also shows us facets of India not often seen in children's books' Lucy Coates scribblecitycentral.blogspot.com Sita's debut novel, Artichoke Hearts, won the 2011 Waterstone's Children's Book Prize and has been longlisted for the Carnegie Medal. It has also been shortlisted for the Redbridge Children's Book Award, the Berkshire Book Award, the Romantic Novel Award (young adult category), Peters Book of the Year, the Fabulous Awards for Books and the Ealing Readers Award. 'A thoughtful, tender and uplifting novel, which continues the story of Mira, now two years older, as she negotiates challenging new experiences, the complexities of family and friendship, and the uncertainty of teenage love' Booktrust 'It's like unpeeling the petals of a flower, smelling, touching, feeling - and yet with a fine thread of a plotline winding its way through, keeping the tension and making one want to read on and on to know what happens' Jamila Gavin

Look for similar items by category
Home » Books » Children's » Fiction » General
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Jasmine Skies on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top